Rubbing it in from Rabbit Island


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kep
March 27th 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Number 6Number 6Number 6

My accomodation
Rabbit Island is a 20 minutes dingy ride from Kep in Cambodia's south. After spending Friday night at Vanna Bungalows ( I cherished the peace and quiet and a double bed all to myself) I woke early on Saturday morning planning to head to Rabbit Island. At breakfast i worked up enough courage to ask some strangers who were also talking anout Rabbit Island if I could tag along with them. They agreed and so we set off. The next 2.5 days were spent in complete relaxation mode. There are no toilets or showers so I was a complete ferral and so salt encrusted I cracked with every movement by the end of my time there. I loved it though and even enjoyed my mattress on the floor of my bamboo hut. Electricity was run by a generator only from 6-10pm each night. It had a great communal vibe and I met some worful people. I actually felt like I was part of the crew from 'LOST'as the island looked like the set and one of the girls I met started trying to convince me about a mediation program she was invloved with- the Dahamma group or something! No black clouds of smoke followed me though!

I had a great time and Kep was a magical ghost town that i can imagine will take off in a big way 20 years from now. Moving on to Kampot and Sihanoukville in the next few days so will keep you in the loop. Love to everyone.

Oh- by the way someone needs to tell me is Easter on the 4th or 11th?


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Boat RideBoat Ride
Boat Ride

The little boats we rode to get to the island


31st March 2010

Happy Birthday, Easter ... Holidays
Hi Chloe! Siobhan Siegert here, aka Siobhan Baster. I just wanted to say a big, albeit belated, Happy Birthday and a Happy Easter for this weekend! Sounds like you've had an amazing adventure so far and I'm so jealous! Thank you so much for the card you sent us, I was chuffed to receive a postcard from you!!! Talk soon Siobhan
31st March 2010

Happy Easter
Hi Chloe. Wishing you a Happy Easter for this coming Sunday (4th). Have loved reading your blogs -- and hearing of your adventures. Various people in the parish down here have enquired as to how you are going, including Peter Hazebroek last Sunday. You rated a very positive comment from Fr Leon a couple of week's ago! Stay safe and happy .. enjoy your tripping around. LOL, Joan and Tom
31st March 2010

Blues n Roots
Hey Chlo Well im sorry to say you missed an awesome day! JBT were fantastic!!! Their new stuff is fab, i bought the album, it came out on Monday and it is wicked. you'll have to try and buy it on itunes. i think daniel is right about the new venue (i read his comment) it was a good but there were way too many people. We didnt even try to get to the front for JBT and crowded house it was just insane. Lisa Mitchell was crap and ANgus and Julia Stone were squashed into the big top stage and they should have been on the main stage because the crowd was totally over flowing! I cant believe Lisa Mitchell was on the main stage and Angus and Julia got shafted! but anyway they were awesome. oh and how cool, we got lanyards! ha ha we pretended we were vip's... he he. Sorry to make you jealous but i have to say i am very jealous of your travels! you will have to give me the hot tips on where to go in Cambodia when i get there. ok keep having fun, im gonna visit vegemite in the next couple of weeks so ill let you know how he is. xx lisa legs

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb