Day 96: to Kep


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kep
February 9th 2019
Published: February 18th 2019
Edit Blog Post

This is a late add, but even more justified. For the second day, we rented scooters and motored our way to Kep. This is a smallish town on the coast known for its crab and city statues. We enjoyed our time cruising along the water, stopping at the crab market, reading and playing cards in the bungalows. All-in-all a good day, except the one time I parked my scooter and turned only to have my calf touch someone else’s exhaust pipe. IT WASN’T EVEN MY BIKE (which had a cover over the exhaust pipe to prevent rookie drivers from doing such a thing)! Well my skin immediately turned ashen and blistered and throbbed in pain. Anatomy class tells me those are the key signs of a second degree burn. We explored the town a little more looking for a pharmacy only to come up empty. We pulled into a cafe by the pier to go out to one of the islands and there was a small shop. I went in to see if they had aloe and the worker said no after asking why. He came out to our table a couple minutes later went to the flower bed and pulled off an aloe leaf from there and handed it to me, smiled and walked away. The thought never even crossed my mind to look for a plant. The immediate cooling affect from the plant was the highlight of my day. I wrapped that up and stuck it in a Tupperware and it provided days of relief. As I write this now, we have rented scooters 5 total days and that was our only incident (knock on wood we have 8 days left). I am thankful and think about how ironic it is that my scooter incident happened when the scooter was in park.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb