Another travel day


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
July 9th 2016
Published: July 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I decided that I would designate yesterday as Sunday and had a lazy day reading my book, and packing my gear ready to travel today. Today should have been 8 hours on busses from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh then on to Kampot. The first leg was the long one at 6 hours and I was a little worried we weren't going good to get into Phnom Penh in time to make the onward connection but got there right on time. The buses between the major cities are very good with reclining seats, air conditioning, charge points for phones etc and WiFi. Waited 45 minutes for the bus to Kampot which was a smaller 20 seater type but also with air-conditioning, WiFi, charge points. This leg should have been a 2 hour journey but it took over an hour just to get out of Phnom Penh and traffic the whole way was diabolical so it ended up taking over 4 hours to get to Kampot. Once there I grabbed my pack and fought my way through the tuktuk drivers touting for business and headed to the river and thence to the nearest bar selling get food. Turned out to be some place called the Rusty Keyhole. Had a couple of beers and Kampot pepper squid. I'd only beem there 5 minutes when some American girl with blond dreds wandered in and asked me if she could get weed there, said i had no idea and she just wandered off. Ten minutes later and a young Aussie guy is asking the same question and getting the same answer. Looks like Kampot might be a bit of a party town. Grabbed a tuktuk to my accommodation, the Samon Village, getting there well after dark. The room are basically grass huts on stilts but quite comfortable. The bar area was packed with legless 20 somethings so my suspicions on the party front were confirmed, all the more so by a French group still carrying on at 4am in the morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb