Indochina tour - part 3 Angkor /Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 4th 2012
Published: May 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So Day 3 was supposed to be an early start ... you know I said I was going to have an early one well that didnt happen and I did bump into the guys I met in the taxi crossing. Needless to say after several bars and several buckets of Mekong whiskey I missed the alarm call. How my eyes opened at 7 am is still a wonder, 2 hours late for my trip to Angkor Wat and still a little pissed. Cold shower and a forced breakfast sorted me out pretty quickly and by 8 I was on a tuk tuk to the Temple.

What can I say Angkor Wat is amazing really amazing and its no surprise its one of the wonders of the world. Its huge and something you cant and wouldnt want to rush. Tokla my guide was absolutly fantastic and it is worth every Reil/ dollar getting a guide who will talk you through the history and ages and temples. I over heard an American woman in a group with no guide say " It all looks the same to me now" ...I seriously wanted to laraap her. I did the mini circuit which took 5 hours and 240 pictures later, yes I took that many photos !! It was back to Siem Reap rooms.

Another shower bag pack and Im back on the road by minibus to Phnom Penh to meet up with Dad. It takes 5 hours and I spent that with some spanish dude asleep on my shoulder, now I could have given him the elbow but we were so crammed in that it was sods law his head would roll onto it again, so he got away with it but only this time ! Its Probably the worst bit of travel Ive had so far and I was walking like John Wayne when I got off in PP. Much like everywhere else you are immediately accosted by a tuk tuk driver... and this one was told very quickly ( as I had no patience left due to the Spanish guy and my arse legs and feet being completely dead ) to either bugger off all together or chill his boots until I got the feeling back and had smoked enough fags ! Typical Cambodian he waited :O) Straight to the hotel and shower and Dads lovely assistant Teeda meets me at my room and we go to meet Dad and yes more drinking. And no I didnt go for round two with the Mekong Whiskey ! We have a few drinks in a bar called the Pitstop and catch up and then we go off to eat beef fried noodles on the street. Its the best bloody thing I have eaten in a long time and I will quite happily eat it everyday 3 meals 3 drinks 4 quid how can you complain at that ? I am loving Cambodia and its deffo not going to be the only trip I make here.

So tomorrow its off for some Sun sea sand and relaxation Sihanoukville also a coach ride of about 4 hours - thats my only grumble here ...its takes so long to get anywhere and its always by road, it is however ridiculously cheap ! One night stay there and then back to PP for a few days is the plan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



4th May 2012

Sounds fantastic,cannot wait to see the snapshots, have I lost my daughter to the orient?
7th May 2012

Hi Mum, yeh pretty much I dont want to come home just yet ! but there are a few more arse crumbling journeys to make so that could change haha :O) xxx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb