Aranya to Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 11th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Traveled from Aranya to Siem Reap with Christy and Sylvie starting out at 7am today. The girl driving us stopped at the "Cambodian Embassy" where we could get visas for 1000 Thai Bhatt ($40). We refused and told her to take us to the border where we got Visa on arrival fro $20. TukTuk drivers are truly out to make an extra buck or even just plane rip you off. (Always make sure you negotiate the price before you get in.) The boarder took a little over an hour. We got across and hired a car to Siem Reap for $33 (less than what we expected.) We got Siem Reap and he took us directly to a tour company... yeah... NO! we don't want a tour thank you. We got a TukTuk and went to Two Dragon Guesthouse http://www.twodragons-asia.com/. It has a great reputation that it is truly living up to so far. We arrived around 1030am. I got an AC room and Christie and Sylvie got a fan room. But the first room did not have functioning AC so I suffered through that during my afternoon nap. I later asked about the AC and they moved to me to another room with a working AC. "no problem"

After we checked in and dropped our bags we took the TukTuk to the river that connects to Boeung Tonle Sap. It took 45 mins to get to the lake moving very slowly since the river was so low that there was a very narrow strip of water that all boats had to maneuver. When we got to the lake we visited the floating village. No idea the name of it. I had my first Cambodian Beer, Angkor Beer, it is a pilsner... which I like.

We then headed back and had lunch at the hotel. pretty good food I thought. The ladies and I parted ways for the afternoon after we made arrangements to meet up at 4:30 to see the sunset at Angkor and buy tickets for the next day. I went and took the nap that was too hot.

My uncle had messaged me to ask if I could be in Phnom Penh by the next night so we could go to Ho Chi Min City by Thursday morning. But I hadn't gotten to go to Angkor Wat yet and it take 6 hours by bus to get to Phnom Penh. So I decided to fly... but needed a visa... so I paid through the nose to get my visa done in one day... crappy. Flight+1 day visa+departure fee = $275. I'm glad I didn't fly to Siem Reap at least, which would have cost $230.

Met up with the ladies a little late but made it to Angkor for the sunset... but we could not go up to the temple for the sunset since it closed at 5:30 and sunset is a little after 6pm... sucky.

Went back and made arrangements to meet up at 5am for sunrise. I walked most of the way to the buffet restaurant the hotel recommended with the ladies. The dinner came with traditional Thai Dancing for entertainment. It was called Mondial something.

Food was pretty decent but my appetite is a little low these days so I only truly enjoyed the noodle soup. The dancing was great, very colorful costumes. I walked back alone on the main busy streets. The TukTuk drivers are everywhere so I wasn't worried.

I didn't last long on my computer and feel asleep shortly after. Finished up this entry the next day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb