Holiday in Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
March 21st 2006
Published: March 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Angkor WatAngkor WatAngkor Wat

The largest temple ever built
As soon as I landed in Siem Reap I was reminded of the Dead Kennedy’s song from the 80’s. The song that pretty much said Cambodia was the last place on Earth you would come for holiday…and now, just 20 years later, the road to Siem Reap is lined with gigantic resort-style hotels for the wealthy tourists (mostly from Korea) who flock here all year round.

It has been a dream of mine for quite some time to come to Cambodia to learn more about the atrocities that went on here not so long ago, but even more than that, to visit the temples of Angkor. It has lived up to my expectations.

I left Saigon a few days ago, which is not a place I needed to spend too much time in. It was actually very nice, but really reminded me of a city you would see back home. I wandered around for a bit and then decided it was time to move on.

Siem Reap, where I spent the past few days exploring the temples that the Khmer Empire built between the 875-1230AD, is a great little town. The history of the temples, why they were built, when they were discovered, etc. is interesting to hear about while you’re exploring, but I think it would be quite boring to read about it on this blog…so I’m just going to post pictures instead. It is said that the only other religious sites that compare to these temples are Manchu Pichu and the Taj Majal

On a side note, I have a bad cold. It is over 100 degrees here, and coming from the much cooler climate of Vietnam has done serious damage to my sinuses…but luckily the pharmacies carry all the cold medicine I need…so it’s not too bad. My schedule has gone from being long nights and short days…to one of being up by 6:00 and in bed by 10:00…nice change of pace.

Hope all is well with everyone back home…miss you all.

Kevin



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Ta NeiTa Nei
Ta Nei

A hike to get there, but well worth it
Ta NeiTa Nei
Ta Nei

A hike to get there, but well worth it
Ta aProhmTa aProhm
Ta aProhm

One of my favorites
Ta aProhmTa aProhm
Ta aProhm

One of my favorites
Banteay SreiBanteay Srei
Banteay Srei

Small temple, but most intricate carvings.
Beng MealeaBeng Mealea
Beng Mealea

80 km away fromthe main temples, but most people don't make it here...I sat and read a book in silence in this exact place...so peaceful.
Just a reminderJust a reminder
Just a reminder

This was posted in my hotel room
Another reminderAnother reminder
Another reminder

A billboard in Siem Reap


21st March 2006

Mamallapuram
Dude, the temples remind me of Mamallapuram in India, you got to remember that day, how pleased we were to get back into Chennai city......... Madness :-)

Tot: 0.518s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 71; dbt: 0.2125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb