Siem Reap - the last two days


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 7th 2009
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We decided to hire tuk tuks and go out to the tonle sap Lake to see the floating fishing village, the silk farm and the cambodian landmine museum.
Well, I didnt do my homework very good this time because I had no idea how far it was from one place to the other. We must have done over a 100km during the day. Phil was whinging big time how square his arse was!!!! Being the good haggler that I am, I beat the drivers down from $25 to $10 for the day. It turned out to be nearly a 10 hour day!

Len and Glenda were in one tuk tuk with Kyle and they had a great driver called Mr Ratha, never quite understood what Phil and mine drivers name was, he did seem a very nice man though. We had the tuk tuk with no breaks, they squealed like my push bike. I think at one stage our driver shat himself as we nearly ran up the back of a mini van that squeezed in when passing us. He slammed on the breaks and the bike didnt know what way to go! Scary stuff!!

When we got to the lake, then its more forking the money out for the boat ride. Was different to the Mekong floating village as instead of boats most of the people live in floating houses. They have schools, churches, shops, basketball court and even a billards hall all floating. Phil and Len are both amazed at the billards hall!

Then it was the long, dusty ride back into town. Had to fuel up the tuk tuks and then Mr Ratha tells me its 50km from Silk farm to Landmine museum. I think he's telling porkys and take no notice!!! Kyle says he's hungry so we stop for lunch. Mr Ratha and our driver join us for the meal and Mr Ratha orders. He didnt order anything different to what we'd already eaten, but Kyle was a little disappointed as he had been eyeing off the chicken hamburger with fries!!! The drivers were full of information and told us a little about life as a tuk tuk driver. Len really liked Mr Ratha and plans on using him the following day for a drive around Siem Reap.

Onwards and upwards to the silk farm. hmmm this is a little further out than I thought. Only good thing is that it is a good road and not a bumpy one! Got to silk farm and a guide came and showed us around. We all found it very interesting. (of course i couldnt resist ANOTHER scarf!)

So, then it was off to the landmine museum, we drove and we drove and we drove and we drove.....bump bump, bump, bump!!!! At least it was interesting the going ons on the side of the road!!! Finally, we arrived. My impression unfortunately of the museum was that if you stopped on passing from Banteay Srei it would have been great, but having spent 1.5hr in a bumpy dusty tuk tuk (didnt help by now I'm burnt as well just to top it off!) if was a long way to have come for a visit. (Reminds me of wave rock out in Hyden.....long way to go to see a rock, but if passing probably worth it...if your into rocks!) Phil thought it worthwhile and throughly enjoyed it....so at least one of us did!

Back to hotel, being the soft touch that I am really, the drivers got a 'very' good tip for their day!!

Next morning, Kyle Phil and I hired quad bikes and had a tour through the cambodian villages. Was brilliant fun. Had a blast. You mainly stay on dirt tracks thoughout villages and rice paddies. The kids come running to yell out hello and wave. Was quite muddy, but not overly so as it did not rain the previous day. The quad people sponser an orphanage so we also visited that. I think it made Kyle appreciate how 'lucky' he really is! The kids at the orphanage learn English/chinese/japanese/computering and khmer. I was told that alot of the kids are made orphans due to the large amount of motor bike accidents and that their parents use traditional medicine instead of modern. Some due to the economic situation. Later that afternoon, I went back to the quad people and donated some money to the orphanage and some childrens books and puzzles that I had taken with me to give away.

On our final night, Len and I had a fish massage, you put your feet into a pool of water and the fish come and eat all the skin. Tickles like mad at the beginning, but eventually you do get use to it. My feet do feel lovely and soft at present.

So, that really leads us today and the fact we have been sitting at Siem Reap airport since 8am and will be here till 1.30pm this afternoon. Yes, our Vietnam Airline flight has been cancelled without giving us any prior warning. Lucky, I'm such a smiley person(!) and I was able to get us all entry to the business class lounge to wait it out!!! So the next installment will be from Saigon.

Advertisement



7th July 2009

Holidays
Hi Trace. I'm enjoying reading your blogs. It saves me EVER wanting to go there. Thank you for representing me so competently! Enjoy the rest of your holiday and I look forward to the next episode. Give my love to everyone. Et

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb