Cambodia - Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
September 25th 2008
Published: September 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Three in a rowThree in a rowThree in a row

Carved faces
I flew from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap on a twin-propellered plane. It was a turblulent flight.

I'd been really looking forward to this part of the trip, as I'd so many pictures of Angkor Wat and loved the Khmer architecture. I wasn't disappointed. I watched the sun rise over the huge temple and strolled around the complex. The next day I visited a lot more temples in the area, including the one used in 'Tomb Raider', with tree-roots intermingling with carved brickwork - the place had a real ethereal quality to it!

I headed back to Thailand and Bangkok, on a terrible road in appalling weather - well it was the rainy season. From there I fly to Kuala Lumpur.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Tomb RaiderTomb Raider
Tomb Raider

Angeline wasn't there
Detail from carvingDetail from carving
Detail from carving

At Angkor Wat
More carvingsMore carvings
More carvings

At Angkor Wat
A reminderA reminder
A reminder

That there's still about 2 million undetected mines in Cambodia
Tomb RaiderTomb Raider
Tomb Raider

The trees are huge, but grow very quickly
Khmer facesKhmer faces
Khmer faces

Carvedfrom the stonework


Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb