Awake yet dreaming...


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To market to marketTo market to marketTo market to market

Joey and I experiencing the thrill of trying to make it through the market unscathed by skinned jumping frogs, horrible fresh meat smells and hords of Khmers...
Cambodia is surreal right now. It's Friday and I backed out of going to see a mangrove forest to stay in town and get some things done before moving countries...I head to Indonesia on Sunday.

It's election time here...motos attract curious eyes as they crawl down the street with huge speakers blaring elections speeches and music through the village...trucks with their beds chock full of people in crisp white shirts and caps with flags and smiles parade down the street 15 at a time followed by dozens of motos carrying 2-4 people in the same attire, all blaring the same deafening speeches or anthems...

On Monday, everyone votes...after 3 days its anyones guess what the outcome will be...if the current leader of the Cambodia Peoples Party (CPP) wins, then everything will go on as normal...if another party wins, (there are many, many parties), the CPP leader who owns the military will most likely begin a coup to overthrow the successful party and regain leadership of the country...whether this will be non-violent or the beginning of a civil war is also anyone's guess...at the last elections, however, this was the case with a few violent encounters and a few bombings
Gate and IGate and IGate and I

Here is when we met Gate and he helped us find our restaurant to meet our friends...I asked to hold his books and they were so heavy!
around the country...which was more peaceful than any other Cambodian overthrowing...a positive step, if you can believe it...Corruption and wealth rule in this country where everyone bribes everyone to make a quick buck due to the rising cost of living and the limited wages...

It's a good thing I'm leaving I guess, in the interest of safety...but even now, as they ban the sale of alcohol for the weekend leading up to the elections at all outlets and restaurants and shut down he nightclubs, one could say it's still a little sketchy just being here...

It's an understatement to say I have met many locals lately, and those I have met I always try and ask about the elections...a majority tell me they are not going to vote because they feel they have no power..."It doesn't matter if I vote," they tell me...."nothing will change, anyway..." Many others are passionate and excited about their power to influence change...but the majority are here in Siam Reap far from their families and home provinces to find work or attend school, but were born or come from other provinces where they are registered as voting citizens...if if they cannot afford to
Gate Gate Gate

This is the boy I met who was selling books in Phnom Penn...the second night I asked him if I could tag along to check out his English school and here we are en route...we tossed him and his bike in our tuk tuk to save time.
travel home to complete their voting cards, there are no post a vote options and they are unable to contribute to the election process...the country is democratic because it must be according to the UN, but Cambodian democracy apparently has a different definition in Khmer...

I board a plane on Sunday to Indonesia to move in with a Dan for a while...I met Dan through Kat in Pai in Northern Thailand. His kindness is dizzying...he is 27 from Australia and owns an English school in Yogykarta and invited me to stay with him..."You HAVE to see Indonesia if you're in Asia, Erin...come stay with me...you can have a room and I'll give you a job for a few weeks teaching at the school..." Who can say no to that?! I told him I'd do anything but prostitution to make a few bucks...I am to assist a group of high school teachers who are learning to teach their current curriculum of sciences and math in the English language...Dan and I will then head for some adventuring in the weeks to follow...after that, Bali calls and I am excited for all its beachy goodness...

I am leaving Cambodia with a
Phnomn PennPhnomn PennPhnomn Penn

Checking out a school in Phnomn Penn
huge hole in my heart...I've no doubt I will one day return to have it filled...most later when time permits on the adventures and dramas of the past 2 weeks in the village...

Although from a great Vietnamese ruler, I hope this quote also will ring true for the future of Cambodia...

"We will rebuild our country, ten times more beautiful!"
-Ho Chi Mihn 1890 - 1969






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Off to AngkorOff to Angkor
Off to Angkor

Heading to Angkor Wat with some friends in true Cambodian fashion...hitching a lift!
Curriculum...Curriculum...
Curriculum...

Creating a preschool schedule and curriculum with the director, 24 year old Sambath..
Play it and they will come...Play it and they will come...
Play it and they will come...

Day 2 of teaching, picked up the guitar and they all came running over to sing with john and I...such fast learners, they all know heaps of songs and how to play them now!
Painting!Painting!
Painting!

Creating a banner to bid farewell to some Irish volunteers


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb