First Day of the Medical Mission


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 8th 2018
Published: June 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

We were ready for anything the first day. It was one thing they cautioned us over and over again- just be ready for anything. Good thing we've traveled so much, we're "go with the flow" kinda people. And actually, nothing overwhelming happened. As registered nurses, we chose where we worked and had the option to move from job to job from day to day if we were bored or wanted to try something else out. The funny thing is.. we're nurses. We preferred to learn one job and do a damn good job rather than jump around unless needed. So Chris worked in registration, the first part of triage. Every time I looked up that first day, he was surrounded by curious children. I ended up in Pharmacy. I loved Carol, our Pharmacist, and her meticulous OCD organization. I absolutely vibed with her and did my best to anticipate what she needed. We had spent an hour upon arrival setting up stations. First registration, then triage. The kids went to Pediatrics after that where there was a fluoride station, deworming and then meds. (I learned you can get worms by wandering around barefoot in the mud). Adults sat down with a doctor, and then everyone was sent through Pharmacy (my table). We saw roughly 170 patients that first day. Many had been seen for infections and anxiety. We only had basic meds with us, and a limited supply. My translator was amazing- she helped me speak with the patients, giving them instructions on each medication and assisting with questions. We gave out vitamins by the handful to kids- about two months supply. They looked like candy and I was so worried they'd think it was so I told them "one a day- or you can get a stomach ache!" Probably not true but it was worth a shot! The kids were obviously adorable but the grandmas, my goodness, so beautiful.

We finished work early afternoon and headed back to the hotel to rest before dinner. After dinner, we headed out to Pub Street. Chris and I were so tired from constant sightseeing the previous days and working early that day, we didn't really stay out too late. Just long enough to get ice cream, and then we headed back to the hotel with Jacob, our group leader, in a tuk tuk. We actually had a chance to learn his incredible life story and array of work over the years. Impressive guy, and I already liked him to begin with!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb