Bangkok to Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
November 16th 2017
Published: November 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today we leave Thailand for three days in Cambodia and the famous Angkor Wat temples and historic sites. Another hearty breakfast, this one at 8:00 am, a civilized time for a man on vacation. Last night we packed everything, and I mean everything we might need for three days in Cambodia into two small backpacks. Since we were coming back to the same hotel in Bangkok, it made no sense to carry all our belongings to Cambodia, go through the hastle of baggage check in and baggage claim twice; when it was just easier to downsize and leave the rest at the Sheraton. I would have loved to claim the idea as mine but it was the ever helpful Tan that proposed the idea. We were is listening to him because this morning at 10:30 when the 8 remaining travelers came to the bus, we all had simple backpacks! Nice planning team!



We headed out of Bangkok at 10:30 am for the 45 minute ride to the airport. Since we had no check-in luggage to mannage, we got our boarding passes outside at the kiosk and headed directly through security. This time it was a breeze to get through and we were soon aware that we had a minimum of 3 hours before our flight.



Rick and I headed to the Meridian Club, part of the luxury of being an Amex Platinum member. We enjoyed free drinks, food, clean bathrooms and a lounge to take a nap. It was much better than sitting upstairs with the crowds. When it was time to depart the club, Rick and I headed up to the gate only to learn there was no plane in sight.



With no other options presented, we waited for the plane to get to the gate. It was about 10 minutes before the plane was to load and still no plane. As the clock ticked closer to departure, the plane finally arrived. It was empty at the gate, so there were no people to unload, so loading was quick and efficient. Every seat was full and we were soon off for the 60 minute flight to our next destination.



Cambodia is a small country, smaller than Laos, Thailand and Vietnam, but denser in population. There are 15 million people spread out over the small country. It is also very corrupt and stands on formal ceremoney, unless you grease the right palm to get to the head of the line! We saw this quickly.



We landed and they brought a set of stairs to the plane for us to get off the plane. Once on the tarmack, we were instructed to go inside a rather large government looking building where the real fun began!



Our first job was to get Tourist Visas. On the plane we were given two forms to compete. One was the enter, departure information form. The other was a declaration of nationality. Easy to complete, the real fun began when we had to obtain and complete the Visa Form.



First, there were foreigners everywhere. Most were on tour and some were solo. The tour groups stayed together and traveled as a group through the process, we did not. It was every man for himself. I tried to obtain the proper form, but the last one was pulled from the rack before I could get it. No one in the uniforms seemed to care that there were literally hundreds of people needing the form and not one form to be had. I flagged down an attendant, and indicated there were no more forms. He returned with about 25 forms for hundreds of people. Chaos ensued. Now, I was the one asking for the forms, but everyone was pulling the forms out of the hands of the attendant. It took awhile but I got two forms, one for Rick, one for me, and headed over to the table to complete the form.



Since I had two sets of forms to complete it took me twice as long as everyone else. Completed forms in hand, I now had to go to the end end of a very long line. So there I stood, when a group of about 10 Germans barged right in front of me and took their place in line. I was aghast and made my feelings known. I told one of the group that the line begins at the end and this was not it. He asked me if I had a problem. I said, No not really but of you stay in front of me you will have a problem, move. He ignored me. I told him once again, do not feel free to cut in front of me and he said "We are on tour." as if that some how mattered. I told him, "I don't care if your the pope, move out of my way." He did. OK I was pissed and a little over the top but seriously, we all had to go through the same process, just deal with it.



Finally after 30 minutes in line, I get to the front desk and we hand in our passports and paperwork. The attendant asks for $30, in cash only, and I pay the fee. He says move along. He keeps my passport and paperwork and I head to yet another maze of people. The next step was a mess.



So here we are, a mass of humanity all trying to get our passports with the newly attached visa. Instead of an orderly process, passports were stamped and held up before the crowd, showing the tiny photo and from some distance you were to identify your passport and claim it. This took another 45 minutes because the tour guides slipped the officials $5 and their group's passports were dispatched in groups ahead of everyone else! Corruption at its finest.



So I get my passport and we are still not done. Next stop is immigration where our passport would be inspected via a computer link. Our immigration official must have been personally guarding the country against terrorists because everyone on either side of Booth 16, our booth, processed three passports to her one. It took FOREVER. Now, everyone in our group has been through immigration for some time, but Rick and I are slowly, and I do mean slowly moving forward. Finally it is my turn. I hand over my passport and miss efficiency starts talking to the guy behind her, looking up and down the room, and making noises with a staple gun. She never looked at me or my passport. After 3 minutes she hands it back and now it Rick's turn. Same procedure, but we are finally through and we get to freedom in Cambodia. We meet our tour guide and are shown the bus for the short ride to the hotel.



We arrive to the hotel, The Meridian, and it is 5 star all the way. Beautiful lobby, well dressed bell boys and costumed hotel staff there to greet us. Well not exactly us, you see the Minister of Tourism was due to arrive, so the area was extra spiffy for his arrival.



We did get a welcome drink and a cold towel to wipe off the Cambodian grime. We get our room numbers and, since we had no luggage, we headed to the third floor and our room. We had an hour to get ready for dinner so I was anxious to clean up and unpack. It was not to be.



We were only 8 people and four of them were married. So there were rooms with one bed and rooms with two beds. Can you see where this is going yet? YUP, Rick and I get a room with a king bed! Nope NOT Gonna HAPPEN. Our bell man calls downstairs and after a few moments he tells me they can pull the bed apart. NOPE. I paid for two beds and by God I am getting two beds. Back downstairs for a chat with the front desk.



I get to the front desk and ask for the manager. I whip out my platinum Meridian membership card and explain the situation. Amazing enough there was a room with two beds ready for us to check in just like that. OK perhaps a mix up, I was not in dispare, all was goot, but we had no time to freshen up before dinner.



Back on the bus for the short ride to the special dinner theater. Now this was indeed a treat. We arrived a little late, but we're shown to a table right out front of center stage, perfect. This only got better and better. We had an excellent traditional 5 course meal while dancers performed traditional dances on the stage for the entire time. As the show ended so did dessert, perfect timing and a perfect dinner entertainment. Back on the bus and 10 minutes later we were back at the hotel for a much needed rest. Tomorrow is Angkor Wat and the eighth wonder of the world.

Sorry no photos today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb