Siem Reap and Angkor Wat/Thom


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap » Knar
April 24th 2012
Published: April 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I landed in Siem Reap yesterday. Of course, the weather is still unbearably hot and humid. I met a lovely couple, Jon and Ellen on the plane. Not sure why I seem to meet couples, but it just so happens that I do. We spoke of travelling and life and made plans to meet up for dinner when we got into Siem Reap. As for my hotel, it is quite large, decently nice, and clean. It definitely isn't as nice as my other place in Phnom Penh, but it will do.

I took a quick nap when I arrived in my hotel and decided it was time to head straight to the pool. It was lovely and the water was perfect! After about an hour, I took a shower and got myself ready to do some exploration. Siem Reap is quite a small city and seems as if you can walk most of the town. I walked to the mall, had some ice cream, walked by the many $5-1 hour massages (which I plan on utilizing), and walked past some many lovely hotels. I past by a fish massage place (yes, you read it correctly: a fish massage). Basically, they eat your dead skin and it's supposed to be a massage. So, I knew I had to try it! $3 for a 20min fish massage plus a coke or beer. I decided to get a coke and dunk my feet into the tank. I was so scared and it felt so weird! When I was done, it was about time to head back to the hotel and get ready for dinner. I phoned up Jon and Ellen and we planned on meeting at 7:30pm at a restaurant their tour guide recommended: the Nest. When I arrived, I forgot I was in Cambodia. The place was lovely, trendy, and covered by white tents to make it look like a nest (hence, the name). Dinner cost the same as it would in the states, around $12 and up for an entree. Regardless, the ambiance was nice (eventhough there was no air conditioning cause it takes place outdoors).

I ordered the beef loc lak (one of the cambodian dishes I love) and a white chocolate mouse with passionfruit. To drinK: a cocktail with vodka, juices, and a bunch of other stuff. All of it was so yummy in my tummy. Jon and Ellen definitely made my night with their great company, conversations, and their kindness. As much as I insisted, they would not let me pay a dime for dinner. Me..a complete stranger who've they've known for 30 minutes prior to dinner...treated me to dinner at a nice restaurant in Cambodia. You don't meet these type of kind, thoughtful people everyday and I just hope I can return the favor! They said that I was their adopted daughter for their trip and just simply wanted to look out for me while I was travelling alone. 😊 I heart them!

Afterwards, Jon was ready to head back to their hotel while Ellen and I decided to have a walkabout in the town. We headed to the night market and pub street, where I forgot I was in Cambodia again and felt like I was in a big city in the States (just with tuk tuks surrounding the premises). I bought a few things at the market and found a bunch of fish massages again. Ellen wanted to try it so I did it with her again. $2 for unlimited time...pretty cool! Again...she wouldn't let me pay! I dont think they'll ever let me! After our fish massage, she walked me back to my hotel since her reasoning for walking me was that I was a young, cute tourist travelling alone and was a target for all the men on the streets. I guess she had a point cause my hotel is located just a bit from the busy part of the town. So, we parted ways and hoped to meet up for dinner again tomorrow (this time, we're in search for good Khmer food).

Today, I visited Angkor Thom and Angkor Wat. Both temples were absolutely magnificent and definitely one of the wonders of the world. It was scorching hot and I was literally drenched of sweat. I couldn't wait to get into my air conditioned car. I had lunch at one of the cafes in Angkor and finally ordered chicken amok. It was definitely tasty. I headed back to my hotel, took a shower, napped, and decided it was pool time. When I got there, I met two Canadian girls who seemed really down to earth and fun. They invited me to dinner so I'm definitely going to take them up on their offer and let Jon and Ellen know that I want to see them before we part ways. So tonight...dinner, massages, and fun with Canadians...eh!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb