Aren't I nice


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap » Knar
February 6th 2010
Published: March 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The plane...The plane...The plane...

... we flew to Laos in.
Another departure day, but not a silly o’clock start, just an early one. While at breakfast we came up with the brilliant idea of seeing how long we could go without talking. It just so happened that as soon as we started they brought our food over. But seeing as we couldn’t talk we ended up laughing. F tried signing to me the T sign so I thought he was asking did I want tea. So to make me understand he took the book that HB was drawing on and tried to write Time Out. See I am no good at charades. HB nearly hit the roof (well she would if we had been inside). She grabbed the book and pencil back and stormed off about 10 paces from us, turned her back to us and crossed her arms. I almost died laughing. It was too funny. She is such a prima donna. She could give the professionals a run for their moneys. There is nothing you can do but laugh. If you have ever seen a 5 yr old storm off and toss her hair over her shoulder because she didn’t get her way then you could understand why I
The plane...The plane...The plane...

... we flew out of Laos in. The Fokker.
almost wet myself. She is too funny at times.

The next country that we went to was Cambodia! The land of the Tomb Raider! I was very excited about going. The airport at Luang Probang was not bad. I could rate it above Heathrow, but not quite. The plane we went onto day was Fokker 40 or 70. As soon as I saw that all I could think of was my mummy and aunties flying on these when they lived in Kenya. My mummy was rather excited when I told her I had been on one, my Aunt’s response was ‘oh you poor person’. It wasn’t a bad flight. Just very loud. We were seated right at the back by the engines, so I could barely hear what F was saying to me. What surprised me when we got to Siem Reap was how nice the airport was. Now this is definitely better than Heathrow. Everything was so fresh and clean. All the wood gleamed; the visa issuing people were very friendly. Mrs G joked that if we had stood there any longer the guy dealing with our visas would have given me his number 😉 We were picked
ProofProofProof

That boys are stupid.
up at the airport by the hotel and driven in a 1940s stretched merc to our hotel. It was very nice, I tell you I am not going to be able to slum it after this trip.

To get to the hotel we had to go right past the Angkor Wat! Wow that is an impressive structure. I was so psyched to be a) so close to it and b) being able to go there. That is one place that I have always wanted to go to. The hotel was rather nice, we had our bath in the middle of our room, good thing I take showers, or everyone would have been banned from the room. As usually everyone liked to explore the room. I was sorting out were things would go when I suddenly heard this ‘Anita, can you come outside?’ (we had our own private walled garden). I thought F was going to be sitting on top of the wall or was about to launch something over the wall at me from his parents garden. Oh no. Somehow he had managed to get himself stuck. He had walked out onto a ledge and was leaning over with his hands on this brick that stuck out from the wall. That isn’t bad. Well no, you would be right in that. Except for the fact that this was over a pond. Being the nice nanny that I am I did what everyone in my position would have done. I took a photo. Hehehehehe. Aren’t I nice.

This was the first time in the trip that I had the bed next to HB. There were two twins pushed together but made up as twins. I warned her that she could only sleep next to me if she stayed quiet in the mornings and didn’t try to get onto or into my bed. Well we had a test run. Mr G, Mrs G and F went out to a temple of some sorts, while HB and I stayed at the hotel. I was rather glad as I had a headache, so seeing as HB was installed in her bed with some books, I tucked myself up into my bed and had a nap. I only slept for 40 mins but that was all I needed. HB was by now jumping all around the place and (I was half awake) landed on my legs. I have never seen someone jump of a person as quickly as she did when I shouted out her name. My reaction was purely a reflex and being woken totally up. But it did the trick; I didn’t have a problem for the remainder of the stay.

That night had the added bonus of HB not actually sleeping in our room. She slept in her parent’s room, so I had a very peaceful night. But to find out more about the peaceful night and day you will have to read tomorrow’s (or when ever get a chance to) blog.

To be continued...

Advertisement



17th March 2010

Lol, aren't boys funny! I can't believe you've been away for 2 months now, where does the time go?
17th March 2010

Yes they are, F pinched me today because I wasn't wearing green for St Patricks day! I almost gave him a clip round the ear. Apparently they do it all the time at school. I have to ask, who are you? I like to know who leaves the comments so that I know who is actually reading my blog. So thank you for reading :)
31st March 2010

Postcard!
Hello Anita! Apologies, that previous post was from me and I forgot to leave my name. I knew it was me but forgot that you're not comment-psychic, lol. Just got your postcard from sydney, thank you so much, it really brightenend up my day :-) i can't believe you climbed the Sydney Harbour Bridge, its so high! How scared were you? So you didn't try to puch the kids off it then, thats a good sign.
2nd April 2010

The kids weren't with me. It was on my day off. I wasn't scared at all. It was just so amazing to do.

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb