Bouncy Bamboo Train


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Battambang
April 5th 2010
Published: April 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bamboo TrainBamboo TrainBamboo Train

Pre-departure photo
Easter Sunday began early as I caught the 7:45 bus out of Sihanoukville bound for PP. I was booked onto seat 9 (seats are highly coveted closer to the front and I have seen massive arguments errupt over seat changes) and so when the lady took my ticket and crossed out number 9 and changed it to number 1 I was worried. Thank goodness no one cared that I had been moved so woohoo more leg room for me! The only bad thing about being up front was that I could see every move the driver made and my hearing is sure to be permanently damaged from the constant blaring of the horn. Mia- you will be able to relate to my new friend in seat number 2 as I writhed loudly through my teeth as the driver slammed on the breaks a few times throughout the journey to avoid hitting an ox, a few school children and several dogs. My seat friend laughed at me and offered me some chewy. Probably an attempt to shut me up.

The four hour drive to PP went relatively quickly but since I had not booked my bus ticket to Battambang I had
Coming throughComing throughComing through

A bigger load approaches and so we disassemble
to wait a few hours in the bus station (about the size of a hallway). I chatted to some other travellers, one guy who's working on a luxary boat and cruises all around the world, others were fellow backpackers. Then a local guy started chatting to me. Once he found out that I was Australian he whipped out his mobile and started asking me how to spell words. It was highly comical to me, there I was sitting in this cramped PP bus station spelling out h-o-w space a-r-e space y for yellow, o- u for umbrella. Then we had a 15 minute conversation about why he couldn't use the f word as I tried to convince him it did not mean good.
My bus finally pulled in at 2pm. As I squished into my tiny seat, with my legs around my ears I thought to myself, 'this is going to be a long 6 hours' then I looked across to see a family of four sharing the 2 seats across the aisle and realised that my journney was going to be alot more comfortable than theirs.

It was a crazy bus ride but I got here safely and that's all that matters. I was the only white person I'd seen all day (apart from the PP bus station) which made me feel like I was doing something slightly unusual. Even though I know millions of tourists make their way via this route at least yesterday I was the only one. A highlight of the day was driving through the remote countryside as th sun was setting. It was a blazing ball of red. One of those memories that no camera can capture better than the camera of your heart.
I hadn't booked any accomodatin in Battambang but I knew about the moto drivers that enciricle the bus as it pulls into the station. Of course being the only visible foreigner I was quickly swamped by locals trying to take me to their hotels. I was lucky because I was bombarded by a rep working for a hotel that was in the guide book and at $4 a night it was in my price range. After taking a refreshing cold shower and eating my Easter treat Mars Bar I collapsed onto my clean bed just in time to catch the end of Oprah and see Horashio arrest the baddies
Goodbye and goodluckGoodbye and goodluckGoodbye and goodluck

My new friend- the little old lady waving goodbye
on CSI. Comfort food and english speaking television was just what I needed. A great end to a very long day.

This morning I had breakfast at a cute cafe around the corner. It cost me a whopping $4.75 but my cheese, egg and ham sandwich with hot coffee was my eqivilant of a cooked Easter breakfast- just one day late! Then it was off to meet my moto driver Mr. Ok for a trip out to the Bamboo Train. $5 gets you a 30 minute ride on a bamboo platform moved along by a motor of some kind. It was great fun rocketing down the railway line bumping along at every track connection point. At one point our driver brought the train to a stop to let on a little old lady heading to the next ''village''. We also had to disemble to whole tran to let another train loaded up with wood pass us by. Another great experience.

Mr Ok and I then visited Wat Ek Phnom which was nothing to write home about and cost me an extra $6 but hey, you've got to try these things. Tomorrow will be another sightseeing day with the
City of a thousand stairsCity of a thousand stairsCity of a thousand stairs

My legs are killing me today after walking up these.
Killing Caves and Phnom Sampeau temple which is high up on top of a moutain. We plan to start at 7am to beat the heat which is extreme here at the moment.

On Wednesday I'll head back to PP so I'll make the most of my last few days of travelling alone for a while. I have enjoyed this little getaway so much. it has allowed me to push my boundaries and problem solve in a way that I forgot I could. I have been able to practice my Khmer and although at times I have been in stressful and unusual situations I have surprised myself by not feeling stressed out or anxious. I guess this is what people meant when they kept telling me that travel would change me. Mia- it was your questions that helped me come to this realisation, so thanks little sis. Everyone else, I hope that your Easter was spent enjoying yourselves. Will write again when I have something interesting to tell you about. xxx






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Worth it!Worth it!
Worth it!

The magnificant vista from the top always makes the gallons of sweat worth it.


6th April 2010

Camera of the heart!
Hello my darling. Your phrase 'camera of the heart' brought tears to my eyes. You are wonderful to savour every experience. Not that you need changing, but I am glad you are pushing your boundaries without too much stress. Last night I watched 'Australian Story' and it was about a young woman from Sydney (about 24) who is running an orphanage in Battambang. She went to volunteer at one stage when it was in other premises and ended up taking the kids from it because the 'director' was abusing them. Now she cares for them and can't see herself ever returning to Australia because she doesn't want to 'abandon' them. She is an amazing person. I hope you don't become that committed to Cambodia or Asia, but I am proud of what you are doing. I am glad you are having the occasional treat, like your 'Easter - one - day - late - breakfast'. Amazing tho that this is a treat, when we take all food so much for granted in Australia. I am off to visit grandma today and then tomorrow to Peppermint Beach with the girls from college. It's lovely to be on holidays! I love you Chloe. Keep well and happy, my darling. Love, mum.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb