Pig snout, your out!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
June 30th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, not quite in the middle of a temple tour, at 11am, I aborted the mission and instructed my driver to return to the hotel, and I happily reentered the cool precincts of my hotel room at the family run Bou Savy.
I am tired of touts, hustlers, con-men, con-woman and yes even little versions called con- children. I have had numerous faces, and their wares, appear in both sides of my tuk tuk, and they just don't desist;- they do not allow me to even move, bailed in - yes tuk tuk cornered. They rudely talk over my driver, even when he is explaining something about the temples and their history. I have been cornered coming out from the toilets, and had people leap out of bushes to start a sales pitch after stalking me through the temple area, just where they are not meant to be under the new regulations.
So my new policy now is to go by bicycle, whereby now I will be so tired and faint, and heat-stroked out that I will just collapse on them, and hopefully knock them out, shortly before the sales pitch begins.
A Taiwanese friend took me on a late afternoon village tour by bicycle to show me that there are real locals who treat you like a human and not a dollar sign. And yes it''s true they are out there'! Poor they may be, but they are totally innocent to the bullshit that takes place on the Angkor Wat temple "fleecing circuit".


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb