Holiday in Camdodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » East » Kratié
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Cambodian KidsCambodian KidsCambodian Kids

These kids were having a New Year block party in Kratie
Looking back on my time in Laos I must say that it is one of the most pleasant places I have ever been. It's a lot of people's favorite country in Southeast Asia and for good reason. The people are so friendly and the scenery has managed to defend itself from over development for the time being. When I think of Laos I think of the "Sabai dee" kids waving from the sides of the roads, noodle soup, families congregating under their little basket houses to escape the heat, BeerLao, dust, the Mekong, long journeys, caves, water buffalo and incredibly friendly, chilled out people who could care less about having a rat in the global race of capitalism and consumerism. As a matter of fact, I could imagine them saying “What race? There’s a race?” I was sad to leave but excited about the time I would be spending in Cambodia
Just like the song says I am having a Holiday in Cambodia. I arrived in a shared mini bus quickly making friends with the other three travelers also heading in my direction, Siem Reap. The ride was supposed to be a two day travel and we ended up
Cambodian KidsCambodian KidsCambodian Kids

Some of the best kids in the world.
staying for an unscheduled stopover in Kratie, Cambodia, whose waters are home to the rare Irrawaddy dolphins. We decided to make the best of our 15 hours that we would be spending there. We walked into the musty market and around the neighborhood near our guesthouse. Truely magical moments happen when you are traveling, things that happen when you expect them least and in a way you could have hardly imagined. We looked down a side street and saw a group of local people having a party to celebrate the New Year. A bunch of kids spotted us from the bottom of the road and immediately came towards us dancing as they approached as if they were the zombies in Michael Jackson's Thriller video. They surrounded us as they showed off their moves which were a fusion of hip hop and traditional Khmer dance. They were so fun and it turned out to be the best block party I had ever been to. I would have liked to have stayed longer but it was going to storm and we headed back to the guesthouse to find some dinner. What a perfect introduction to Cambodia. I was hoped that my first
Cambodian KidsCambodian KidsCambodian Kids

Upside down moves.
few hours in this new country was a sign of how things would take shape during my stay there. Little did I know then that it was. Marie (Fr), Ida (Sw), Ale (It) and I relaxed on the comfy sofas and planned our trip to the temples in Siem Reap.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb