Ngwesaung Beach


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
January 27th 2015
Published: January 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As I prefer to travel by bus and train and as Ngapali Beach is so difficult to access by bus, I decided I would head to Ngwesaung for my last week, a five hour bus ride from Yangon, and a beach located on the Bay of Bengal. A choice I definitely do not regret.

It has been a week of lazing around on the beach, enjoying fantastic fresh fish, doing a couple of excursions on the back of a motorbike, meeting lovely people.

After always being on the move for seven weeks, it was quite a contrast when I arrived here and it took me a day to adapt and realise I would have no problem being lazy for a few days. My plan had also been to spoil myself to a stay in a nice resort but in the end I settled for a simple little bungalow, not directly on the beach but in hearing distance. And what a lovely beach it is, hardly any tourists and friendly locals. The water is nice and warm, the waves sometimes huge, the sunsets beautiful.

As Burma is still a very underdeveloped and poor country, maybe not the place of choice for all (electricity and hot water in scarce supply, hardly any English spoken) but for me the perfect spot to unwind.

If you do decide to visit Ngwesaung, please try out the restaurant Table 5 owned by Ko Toe. The food cooked by his brother is simply delicious. Ko Toe also organises interesting tours and speaks good English. Always helpful, always friendly. While his young brother and cousin entertain you with Burmese songs.

Early tomorrow I head back to Yangon and then Bangkok, so I'm now off to enjoy my last day of beach and sun! Hope I haven't made you too envious and the pictures will warm you up a bit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0724s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb