On My Way.... to Mandalay


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post



Out from the abyss it is 6:25 am here in Myanmar. Now in Mandalay. This is quite in amazing country. I keep thinking I am going to wake up with Bos Mo knocking at my door. I arrived in Mandalay from Lake Inle with is the really, I believe, the lost city of Atlantis. The whole place... city, not village, sits on a lake. There are over 200 monastaries. My room was in island in itself... I walked across a bridge to get there. It had water on all four sides and below (I woke up having to pee every 15 minutes.. which I am sure went right down into the lake... nothing like ecotourism)

Every morning (2) I woke up to students paddling across the lake in their green uniforms and men fishing by paddling the boat with their foot, standing up. Peoples smiling faces appear in every open window as they carry on conversations across the road (river waterway) from house to house. A women jumps in her boat to paddle to the nearest store and puts her baby on the front of the boat where it could fall. No worries... the people have gills here!!

Tomorrow to Bagan on a boat for 6 hours down the Ayeyarwady River and then on my hike. Having a great time. Peace




Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb