Shakymuni Teabag


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
January 17th 2006
Published: January 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post


This place is way more amazing than I ever thought. I am in the morning of my second day where I have woken again with a view of the Schwedagon Pagoda. It rises 316 into the baby blue sky, pointed and guilded with gold like the finger of the Buddha himself. Buddhism has its gentle grip on the people here. I insulted my guide yesterday when I asked him if we should keep our shoes in the car instead of at the foot of the temple where a young girl no more than six puts them is a slot with a number on it. I looked at my Naot sandles and then at everyones elses flipflops and thought, "This could be the last time I see these babies." My guide hearing the wheels of my jet- lagged mind said, "The people of Myanmar are Buddhist, we cannot steal."

I came here with my defenses up, more than a little scared. Military government, human rights abuses, 11 tourists disappering 4 years ago on Xmas eve. No trace of them. I arrived spiritually and emotionally tight. A travelling wolf. Double and triple check everything... assume nothing.... only the worst.

Guess what ? "I am melting", like the wicked witch of the west. Beauty, shines through despite suffering and fear and intimidation..... what things that have melted me? you my ask.

1)Sitting in a market full of people quietly drinking tea with my guide and 3 young monks
2)Pouring water over the Buddha 36 times for each year of life plus one
3)Speaking without language to a Buddhist nun (I had bad prayer posture where then she preceded to give me a poke in my lower back and a discourse on the what the Buddha said about prayer in Burmese... I just smiled and said "Prayer for me honey, I am just a poor sinner.... At which point I gave her 1000 KYATS (worth at least 1000 Merits when I die someday and hanging in between heaven and hell)))).
4) waking up in the wee hours of the morning to see that the Broncos advanced to the Championship match (I then returned to the same nun the next morning and said "I think I know what NIRVANNA is.)

Peace to all.... great time... (by the way no hotmail or yahoo... the govt here does not allow it
DOUG




Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb