Burmese Days


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Glancing furtively around the restaurant and discovering I remained unobserved, my hands shot to the curry dish on the table in front of me, squelching a messy mass of rice and fish into a ball, at once ravishing the freedom of juices dribbling down my chin and the explosion of spices and tang. No disapproving glances, whispers, frowns. This is acceptable? I wondered, but not for long, as I embraced this newfound dining etiquette. This was lunchtime in China Town, Rangoon.

The most beautiful sunset I’ve ever seen was in Myanmar, on the return trip to land. The last fishermen hoped for a final catch and children paddled home to dinner, the sun burned in glory until swallowed by the mountains. I wondered if the fishermen had been taught the world doesn’t ever get to sleep, but am I any the happier for knowing?

The experience of reclining in the arm of a deserted temple to read a book is one I’m already having trouble recalling clearly - the pressure of the heat contrasted with the cool, damp brick of the untended building, the ceaseless drone of insects and occasional shouts from nearby farmers and workers, the entire process supervised by the imposing, expressionless Buddha to my left. In the evening, we rode our dumpy rental bikes back across the sand to a taller temple to watch the sunset, finding ourselves waiting too late to begin the journey to the guesthouse. An hour long clumsy fumble through the dark and sand returned us to a deep sleep.

I left feeling I could spend years in Myanmar and only begin to scratch the surface of that tumultuous country, that uncomfortable aching violent undercurrent evident everywhere we traveled. One of the children in the picture above quoted to me the exact price of my camera, he knew it because my kind of foreigner usually carried that type, and he could not be distracted from his goal of exchanging my American dollar at a 'special price.' He was young, and beautiful, but when his father came up I feared for him the future he was already being pressed into. And I fear the type of person I am, for seeing this and knowing this and for flying in comfort out of the country one week later on a government plane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



8th April 2007

WOW!!!!
:) I just had to make a comment on this one.. I loved the picture of you and the children!!! :) I want to frame it! :)
9th June 2007

All I can say is WOW!
Your photos are great very creative shots.
20th October 2007

Damn!!!
Amazing pics gal! Loved the shots, all of them have a story to tell. Especially the Fisherkids one. Ur too good.
21st November 2007

Ohh I miss Burma when I see these pics! I was there in February 2007 as well! :)
16th February 2009

Simply Beautiful!
I've just randomly discovered this blog entry. It's great, both in words and images. I'm gonna read the other 6 of yours as well, but I'm already afraid that I'll feel that I'd want more new ones and -since your blogs date back to february 2007-that wish will remain unfulfilled. Marco
13th March 2009

hmm
the picture of a machine is absolutely superb ! beautiful shot !
15th July 2009

Thanks.
I really enjoyed this blog, great writing and lovely photos - thanks!
25th November 2009

Nice pictures
16th February 2011

Beautiful Picture!
What a beautiful picture!!! (Power of a Machine) How you´ve got that amazing photo? Congratulations
31st December 2011
Power of a Machine

Great shot!
This picture is the best. I love it because it tells a story.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb