Hotel Grand United


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Yangon Region » Yangon
January 13th 2014
Published: January 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had said to some of you that booking this Hotel was booking a soft landing...that has been true ...the location is good , the staff helpful and the breakfast is plentiful. it is overpriced but that is okay.

i had such a great day yesterday. I took a ferry across the Yangon River to Dalah which is considered part of the Delta Region. Once there one books a trishaw for a tour of the villages and sites in the area . I was lucky enough to be 'picked up ' by a young man right on the ferry. He sat beside me and explained , in quite good english what he could offer me and how much it would cost .it felt right to go with him and I am so happy I did. He pedalled away furiously , answered my questions about everything from foods to Buddhism And eventually took me to meet his parents and siblings. His sister worked up a white paste to cool my face as most Burmese women do. We then headed to the market and linLin ,the women and I had great fun trying to get a longey fitted to my body. We laughed a great deal!Continuing on our way I asked why so many people were greeting me and children of many sizes waved and Linlin said it was very unusual to see a single woman in the area and he also thought it was because we were laughing a lot.one very poor village we stopped at he suggested we give some treats to the children.what a wonderful experience that was. The lady-boys dancing at one of the temples was quite fascinating as well.in all we were together for 5hours. If anyone is interested in such a guide I have his email address.

To top it off Suzanne arrived a few hours later.It was really good to see her ! I was able to show her a bit of the Yangon in the neighbour before we headed to the night market for some Chinese BBQ.the fish we had was very bony and a bit hard to get at with chopsticks but it was tasty.

Enough for now .i am enjoying your comments.i can reply to you if you use the message option Although I am not sure how efficient that is.bye for now.

Advertisement



13th January 2014

Glad you had such an interesting day!
Well, after all your waiting & wondering, this sounded like a super day. So many neat experiences. Good for you. Especially happy to hear that Suzanne finally got there. She must be glad to be there as well. Now you can both tour in earnest. No more wondering where & when. Have a good time. Hi to you both. love,
13th January 2014

Hi Pam: So glad to hear you arrived safely and that you now have Susan with you. Always enjoy the ramblings.... Take care, M.
15th January 2014

So wonderful!
How wonderful that your adventures are going well, and that Suzanne has arrived safe and sound. I hope her travels were not too exhausting. Everything is great here, the weather has turned mild for January. Unfortunately that causes traffic woes, but not bad for me getting to work. Today was the Board luncheon and employee service awards, which is always good. I wore the Eric Alexander pant suit we bought at Rhoda's last time and one friend even said I looked good. Take care.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb