Burmese Cooking Class


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Inle Lake
February 29th 2016
Published: March 9th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Flower LadyIMG_0420Flower LadyIMG_0420Flower LadyIMG_0420

At the edge of the market, breathing in distal fumes all day long.
I decided to take a Myanmar cooking class on our last day here. It was well worth it. Sue, the igniter of this programme, is an admirable woman. She has a strong desire to share her culture with foreigners, a trait she learned from her father. She is not in it for the money. Most of her profit goes to helping her extended family and to help local children get an education and a full belly. She also teaches them English with the help of foreigners who have been inspired by her vision.

Her husband met us at 8 am outside the market. We followed him closely through the crowd as he shopped for ingredients for today’s class. I’m glad I tower above the locals as it was very difficult and I didn’t dare stop for photos in fear of being left behind in the maze. I was glad he was able to put a name to some things I had previously seen at other markets.

With two bulging sacks, we exited the market and climbed aboard a couple of dinky toy trucks for the short haul to his house. After introductions, he presented a menu of about 20
Fresh ProduceFresh ProduceFresh Produce

There has to be at least a hundred stalls selling just vegetables. Others sell meat or fish or clothing.
items. Today’s class is made up of 15 people representing 8 countries. From the menu, each of us chose two items we wished to make. I chose a pumpkin soup and a green bean salad. The ingredients were distributed and with instructions from Leslie and Sue, we began to put together our dishes.

I didn’t follow their directions exactly as I know my tastes and the ingredients so adjusted accordingly (go light on the pungent fish sauce). As my recipes were relatively easy, I had time to observe the other dishes being prepared. Note. Myanmar cooking uses a lot of peanut oil and fish sauce and salt. I will be offering to cook a Myanmar meal at the co-op when we get home.
Everyone's contribution was laid out on the tables and we sat down to eat. There were sixteen of us sitting at the tables. I asked Leslie how much he had spent at the market. He said $25. And there were left-overs!

We had to find our own way home so I hitched a ride with some Israelis. I soon realized I was getting further away from where I wanted to be. Once back at the
Fresh FishFresh FishFresh Fish

Some were still flapping.
Inn, Claudette had just returned from her shopping trip. She found a few interesting things for Christmas gifts. I won’t say what. LOL.

We then wandered around looking for a bank machine that worked, a place that sells batteries and somewhere to eat. Packed up our bags for the ride to the airport at HeHo to return to Yangon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

De-scaling CarpDe-scaling Carp
De-scaling Carp

It was still alive.
Hard at WorkHard at Work
Hard at Work

Sue and some of my fellow students. See Bamboo Delight Facebook entry of March 29 for other pics.
Buffet LunchBuffet Lunch
Buffet Lunch

Our creations.
Chinese BuffaloChinese Buffalo
Chinese Buffalo

At full speed it makes as much noise as an Ack-Ack gun.


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb