Bagan


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Bagan
December 17th 2010
Published: December 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

04/12/2010 - 08/12/2010

From Hsiphaw I took the train to Pyin; from there I took a local pick up bus back to Mandalay. From Mandalay I took the overnight bus to Bagan. I didn't have good experience yet with the myanmar buses, but this was even worse..midgits wouldn't even be comfortable I arrived around 4 pm so still on time to grab a bike; I cycled to Shwesandaw pagoda to watch the sunset. This pagoda is the most highly recommended one, cause you get a good overall view over the hundreds of temples (all together there are more then 4000 temples, stoepas,etc) Whereas siem reap temples were more interesting of the stories behind it and the detailed carvings, Bagan for me was more about the amazing views on the countless temples and the mystical atmosphere. Highly recommended means sadly enough also a lot of tourists and indeed this was the first time I saw these big buses unloading flashing Chinese and Japanese tourists.

In the evening I caught up with Charles (south africa), we met back in Bangkok. It was nice to share impressions and burmese stories over dinner. Afterwards we chilled at the guesthouse and Charles would
bring out a good Australian red wine....oh that was good!!

Next day me and Charles went on a boat trip on the Ayawardy river and visited some more distant temples. After lunch said goodbye (cause his two weeks were over) and I went on temple exporation by bicycle in the afternoon; I saw a sunset from an other temple, bit more far away and crappy paths...result two flat tires, front and back! In the evening I met some nice French people and Robert (GE); would have a nice dinner.

Third day I got up early to see the sunrise from the Buledi temple. And goddamn it was worth it! There was a mist layer lying on all those temples and bit by bit this giant red fireball shed light on the entire view. Next I went on a full Bagan exporation, from old Bagan district to New Bagan area to finally getting lost in the desert paths. In the evening I had dinner again with Robert and the french.

Next day I shared a taxi with Robert,one of the french guys and an awful Canadian woman, f* could she bitch about nearly everything. Unfortunately she would cross my path later on again...We all went up to Mount Popa, home of Myanmar's most powerful nats and full with hungry monkeys; a bit disapointing though In the afternoon I checked the big Shwezago pagoda where I was kidnapped by 3 three gorgious little girls; they took me to several places and finally to their home to get some tea. That evening I went for some beers with RObert. I didn't make it too late cause my bus to Kalaw would leave at 3 am!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb