Blood Sucking Leeches


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Punakha
October 8th 2006
Published: October 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Fat Juicy Leeches. Filled with my blood. They fly, they jump, they suck.
They come right off with a sharp knife or some salt, but then the bleeding begins. At first I thought my friend, Tshering Penjor, was being paranoid on the trail when he began scratching and acting agitated on the jungle trail to the hotsprings. Only to find out he had a fat leech attached to his buttcheeks for a few hours. And when he finally scraped it off with his machete, he bled for twelve hours! I also thought the local villagers were just teasing me when they told my friends, in Zhongka, that the leeches would love my foriegn blood. But when we arrived at the hotsprings and Sonam said, "Peter! What's that on your neck?!" I flung that slimy, thick leech off of my jugular. And I too bled. I still have a small scar from that little bloodsucker. Can anyone tell me what role these leeches play in a jungle ecosystem?!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



29th October 2006

Stinkin' leeches!
Hey man, I recognize that fear. I passed through the Gasa-Damji trail just a few days after you, and the whole party were paranoid and on constant leech alert. Fortunately the weather had improved a bit and we didn't have any encounters. We'd been given the recommendation to allow the suckers to finish their drinking and then they'd release their grip without you starting to bleed, not that I think anyone would want to wait to see if it would be true.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb