Touch down in the desh


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka » Dhaka
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello again from the Desh!
After a (thankfully) uneventful 24 hour trip, I arrived in Dhaka yesterday morning and slipped right back into Bangladesh mode (facilitated by having to argue with the taxi racket about the fare from the airport). I'm now getting re-aquainted with the sights, smells, sounds and humidity of Dhaka and trying to remember my Bangla. Having learned my lesson the first time, I've left my cupboard door open to the breeze to hopefully prevent mold from growing on all my clothes!

My new digs at Arif's place are a significant upgrade from the old AKFC pad. Marble floors, a big queen sized bed, tv and hot running water! And Peter, the cook, is as wonderful as rumours suggested. Arif has photos of his three year old daughter (who lives in Washington) all around the apartment, which is lovely.

I went to BRAC yesterday after my arrival and it was a bit like being Norm in Cheers. Everyone in BRAC Education Program remembered me and was excited to see me. They were, however, dismayed to learn that I still have no children and I am, of course, still fatty. I've set up my initial appointments for research at BRAC, and have made contact with a few other organizations. Hopefully all goes smoothly, but I must confess I'm quite nervous about the whole process! I"m glad to be starting out at BRAC, on familiar territory, to try out my questions, etc...

Bad news - it seems I'm not allowed membership at the Canadian Club anymore. Reserved for Canadians residing in Bangladesh (high commission staff, etc). I was very disappointed, if only because I was really hoping to be able to work out at the gym. The networking is also nice, as well as the ability to visit the other clubs when they have special events. Oh well...

That's all for now. Promise to attach pics next time. Will try to get a mobile in the next few days and send out my number. If you want, you can somehow register to get alerts when I've updated my blog, so you don't have to keep checking in.

Cheers,
N

Advertisement



24th September 2006

Our little world traveller
As usual, you take off from one location and land in another, on your feet running! Great to hear that you are back in the 'Desh safe and sound. Hopefully the lessons that you learned on the first trip will help you navigate this adventure with a little more ease. Too bad about the Canadian Club ... personally I think you should just sneak in when no one is looking! Keep the news flowing ... we love living vicariously through you ;-) Hugs and kisses from the Tail K
28th September 2006

Back in 'Bong'
Hi sweetie, Nice to hear that you made it safe and sound. Here goes another wonderful adventure! Yes, your past experiences will serve you well and you'll be like an old pro on the ground. Don't be nervous. You are amazing and will accomplish everything you set out to do. Good luck. I know Darren will be missing you a lot, especially on your anniversary. We will look forward to hearing of your adventures.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb