When in Bangla...


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Cox's Bazar
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I'm actually here...after all those months of driving you all crazy with my winging and planning I am finally out of your hair and in the humid tropical location of Cox's Bazar, South Bangladesh (nb saw my first rainforest yesterday...not quite as exciting as you'd imagine. Just a lot of trees and wetness. still..). Mighty me, it's all plenty exciting. It took a long long time to get here..which i think adds to the appreciation of now being here (and made me feel pretty intrepid too).
Today I have been meeting the staff (not my staff, it's not that colonial! my colleagues, i should say), fighting with the local bank manager in order to get him to agree to change my travellers cheque (a slightly hairy moment!) and buying lots of highly important items such as buckets and toilet brushes and orange polka-dot curtains for my new 'pad'. These are seettling-in days until wednesday, when I will venture to the camps for the first time
The big boss here is a cornish man called Jim, who is brilliant and has worked all over the place , from bosnia to iraq, whilst maintaiing a mean sense of humour and an amazing knack at equalising people. The office feels like one big happy family, so hopefully i can slot in as their adopted daughter for 3 months or so.
that's it for now i think...until i have more to talk about than shopping!
oh, it's hot here. but not as hot as i'd imagined, which is nice.
yay
I xx

Advertisement



13th May 2007

Hi
Brilliant to hear all is going well. This travel blog is a great idea! Its not at all hot here! big hugs and xxxx.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb