All The World's A Stage


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Chittagong
December 4th 2010
Published: December 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The TailorThe TailorThe Tailor

Zubair is a hilarious dancer, and should definitely be on the stage forever!
Well, this week was the week of the ADF! And what a full on week it was. Sunday, i was back at school rehearsing from 5pm until 8pm, Monday i had half a day at school then rehearsals from 2 until 6. Tuesday we had the day off due to a national strike organised by the BNP for some political reason i can't get my head round. Then, Wednesday was a normal day of school and finally, i had Thursday morning off until 1:30 where i went into school for the performances!!

I really didn't know what to expect from the shows. My piece was only a small part of a much bigger 2 hour show - all based around the concept of Festivals of the World. I was directing a short drama based around the Venice Carnival, exploring the lives of everyone involved in the festival, with some hilarious dance numbers, a bit of mild romance and some really great acting. The entire show was mostly dance, with pieces from Spain, Germany, Brazil, Mexico, Bangladesh and many other countries i just can't remember now.

The performances went extremely well. All the kids were just so talented, i can't
Eyasmin, Rashida and BoudiEyasmin, Rashida and BoudiEyasmin, Rashida and Boudi

Three very funny teachers that are great friends
quite believe how much effort they must have put into the shows. The dancing was all very good. My show in particular went very well, all the kids acted it the best that they had ever done. Apart from a few minor tech issues (involving me having to shout at techies for not doing what i wanted them to do...annoying) it all went off without so much as a hitch. I think even the head and the directors of the school really enjoyed it, and today at school i heard a lot of comments about how much students enjoyed my piece in particular! I was very proud of my students, and decided to treat them with cake at school, which i think they were grateful of.

So...i only have five days of teaching left, and only 9 days left in Bangladesh. I cannot believe how quickly this three months has flown by. I am going to be devastated to leave some of the students (all of which have been bugging me for my email address or facebook profile so we can stay in contact) and many of the incredible friends i have made with staff members here. I can see myself coming back and visiting this wonderful and intriguing country again. My last week will be filled with shopping, and taking in all of the sights that i can. Then, hopefully, i will have a few days in the capital - Dhaka - in order to explore before my flight home on the morning of the 14th. Crazy.

Advertisement



5th December 2010

Savour every moment and remember there are lots of us who will be glad to see you back at home. Have a safe journey home. Lota of love Godma xxx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb