Back to the homeland


Advertisement
Armenia's flag
Asia » Armenia » West » Yerevan
September 18th 2012
Published: September 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, it’s been exactly a week since I’ve arrived in Yerevan and I can say I’m lucky enough to feel very welcome here. Perhaps for the simple fact that I feel at home with my host family and have reunited with some relatives I do not feel as though I’m in a foreign city, but that I belong and fit in as I should. Although, everything about this city is foreign for the simple fact that I haven’t been here in 20 years and don’t speak the language. Not understanding what people are saying around me is frustrating and makes me feel like the outsider that I am. For some reason I am emotionally withdrawn from my usual reactions/feelings when I travel. I typically feel inspired, motivated and super excited. However, this week I have felt like I have been here for months and feel very comfortable. I can’t say I like the comfort, as I work better under pressure and emotion, but perhaps this also means that I feel as though I am home subconsciously.



After 7 years of wanting to volunteer abroad somewhere, I finally took the plunge, quit my job and embarked on a new
Armenian AlphabetArmenian AlphabetArmenian Alphabet

En route to Mt. Aragats
journey back to the homeland, Armenia. Twenty years and three flights later, we finally reunite. I applied to volunteer through Armenian Volunteer Corps and in conjunction with Birthright Armenia, arrived in Yerevan last Tuesday.



Today a new week begins and I finally start my volunteer work and Armenian classes. I’m anxious and nervous to start both but excited to finally put myself to some use. This past week has been somewhat of a vacation as I did nothing with myself but attended an orientation on Friday at the Birthright Armenia/AVC office and went on an excursion to Mt. Aragats on Saturday. It was International Clean Up day so our group put on the gloves and grabbed a trash bag and picked up litter around Kari Lake for a few hours. Afterwards, we went horseback riding and did some yoga.

I will start putting my professional camera to use in the upcoming weeks and will post up some more pics very soon 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Rusty beastRusty beast
Rusty beast

One of the sights along the road, most likely left from the Soviet years.
Mt. AragatsMt. Aragats
Mt. Aragats

One of the sights of the area...they stack these for good luck apparently


18th September 2012

Hey!
I look forward to reading your blogs. Keep up the good work... Need more like YOU!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb