Days 9-11, Kabul


Advertisement
Afghanistan's flag
Asia » Afghanistan » East » Kabul
March 15th 2006
Published: March 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our last three days were a blur of museums and shopping. On one of the last nights, one of my roommates and I went to dinner at the 5-star Serena Hotel. It was like being in a whole other world - and we got to see Kabul at night for the first (and only) time. After 8 pm, the streets of Kabul look like a ghost town. No lights, no cars, no noise.

One of my favorite memories of Afghanistan will be our time at Babur's tomb and garden in Kabul. Babur, the founder of India's Moghul empire, occupied Afghanistan during the 16th Century. Although he died in India in 1630, it was his wish to be buried in his garden, in Kabul, so his body was returned to the city. Much of the garden and its walls had been destroyed during the civil war in Afghanistan, but after the fall of the Taliban, several countries and the Aga Khan trust began restoration of the grounds. It is a very peaceful and beautiful place. While we were there, preparing to leave, our van driver put on a tape of Afghan pop-dance music that we all had come to like, and we sat in the van, doing "synchonized van sitting/dancing" while we waited for stragglers from the other van to gather and leave; some of the workers on the grounds noticed us "dancing" in the vans, and they decided to join in...the music was turned up, and a great cross-cultural time was had by all. 😊

We also visited the National Gallery, which is open only by appointment. Much of the work in the Gallery is on loan from other nations, with the artist of such works denoted as "Foreigner." The Taliban destroyed much of the art during their reign, particularly those things which depicted humans or other living things. Christina Lamb detailed the extent to which art curators at the museum tried to protect the works by hiding them or paining over them with watercolors in her book The Sewing Circles of Herat.

We went to Darulaman Palace, which can only be viewed from a distance. It is currently a shell of its former self, literally, but money to renovate it cannot be justified when there is so much else to be done in Afghanistan. It is guarded by NATO forces, and hopefully, will be restored or preserved in the years to come. It's destruction came through the years of civil war between the Taliban and others.

We did the whole Chicken Street/Flower Street shopping scene, but I wasn't impressed enough to buy much of anything. I bought a few trinkets - locks in the shape of animals, an oil lamp, hats, and purses. A few people in the group bought rugs.

On my final day, I realized that I still had about $50 in Afghan money. My roommates and I decided that we would take a "photo safari" of the neighborhood, and I decided that I would spend/give away the last of my Afghan money since it was no good elsewhere. I also put a $20 US bill in my pocket just in case I ran across something that I "had" to buy.
As we walked and snapped photos, people would greet us. Whenever a kid greeted us, I would shake their hand and discreetly give them some of the money I needed to get rid of - I accidentally gave a kid who was minding a shack-store and who looked to be about 5 my $20 bill...he was very happy!

When we got to the airport, the security process was strict and yet harried. Our guides and drivers couldn't accompany us to the terminal, so we said quick and sad goodbyes. The flight to Dubai was uneventful - and we even had a celebrity with us - Peter Bergen, the author and CNN terrorism analyst. We joked that with him on board, we'd at least make the news if our plane crashed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Darulaman Palace in better daysDarulaman Palace in better days
Darulaman Palace in better days

The palace before decades of war.
Bathroom at Serena Hotel, KabulBathroom at Serena Hotel, Kabul
Bathroom at Serena Hotel, Kabul

See, I told you. It's like stepping inside a whole different world.
Destroyed high schoolDestroyed high school
Destroyed high school

The kids were going to school in tents. No sign of reconstruction.
Tents on HS groundsTents on HS grounds
Tents on HS grounds

The kids were going to school in tents. No sign of reconstruction.
Neighborhood mosqueNeighborhood mosque
Neighborhood mosque

My 5 am wakeup call.


25th April 2006

Thanks for sharing your amazing trip!
Hi, I founds your blog via your link in one of your DailyKos comments. What an amazing trip! I collect Afghani tribal saddlebags and am fascinated by the culture. It was criminal for the Bush administration to abandon them. The Afghans have suffered so much.
28th June 2006

Very nice
Thank you for linking to here, I too came via Kos. It is so nice to see the country from a non political vivew. Thanks again.
30th January 2007

Sharon, Thanks for the memories
My heart is strongly connected with the people of Afghanistan, particularly the street kids. It looks like not much has changed in the 3 and 1/2 years since I was there, except for the Serena Hotel, and some fresh paint on the Mosque. I stayed at the Mustafa Hotel, International Hotel and a Guest house on Share Nau. I hope you do get the chance to go back this year. Thanks again, David Huskey (Daud Neromand)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb