Breaking News: Source Says NCAA Has Suspended A.J. Green for Four Games Breaking News: Source Says NCAA Has Suspended A.J. Green for Four Games


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
September 9th 2010
Published: September 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This morning, I received a contact from a source who reported to me that the University of Georgia has received word from the NCAA that A.J. Green will be suspended for four games.
Last Saturday's season opener against Louisiana-Lafayette reportedly will count as the first game of the suspension, the remaining three games of which will be served during the Georgia Bulldogs' upcoming contests against South Carolina, Arkansas, and Mississippi State. I am informed that Green is scheduled to return for the Bulldogs' game against Colorado on October 2. I am told that the University will appeal, although it is unlikely that the suspension will be reduced, and, obviously, no reduction could come in time for this weekend's game in Columbia.
Admittedly not knowing all the facts in the case, a few things immediately come to mind concerning A.J. Green’s four-game suspension:
First of all, if all he did was sell one of his jerseys to an agent, how does Green get four games when Alabama defensive end Marcell Dareus got two games for flying to Miami on an agent’s dime? Maybe there’s more than meets the eye
Secondly, as we saw with the Jeremiah Masoli case at Ole Miss, there’s always that chance the school wins its appeal. He went from not playing at all this season to playing in the first game. Whatever happens with Georgia’s appeal, it’s pretty well locked in that Green won’t be on the field this Saturday at South Carolina.
An announcement should be forthcoming shortly---frankly, I'm surprised I made it home before word got out---but I have confidence that this source is reliable. More will follow once we have confirmation that the news is true. (I'd be happy to be wrong about this, but, again, I trust the person who contacted me; I just wish the timing had been better, but it couldn't be helped.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb