Somewhere and Nowhere


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 16th 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gift ShopGift ShopGift Shop

and some signage.
The switch I installed in for the riometer did not do the job, so today, after the usual answering e-mails for a couple hours, I went out to do a more thorough inspection. Before I left, though, I met up with Jason, the RA here, to see if he had an indicator and a power chord I could use to rock out (hehe, power chord). Actually, the power chord is for plugging the Data Acquisition Unit (DAU) into a standard wall outlet, and the indicator is to determine whether data is being transferred from the DAU to the modem and from the modem to UNH.

Jason didn't know what I was talking about and neither did I, so I just took something with a lot of lights on it. By this time it was already lunch hour, so I ate and went on a jot down to the Scott Base store to check out what they had while I could. Not a whole lot that interested me -- some clothes, post cards, and nick-kacks. I left empty-handed, got back to McM, caught the shuttle, and went to work.

After some fiddling with the riometer, I found some crossed wires
The SystemThe SystemThe System

DAU and modem
(my fault :-p), righted them, and fixed the problem.

After some fiddling with the DAU, I gave up and went back to camp needing more specifics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Lights!Lights!
Lights!

now what does it do?


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb