Temporary Fix


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 15th 2009
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

More coordination going on, and I found out that chances of staying until the 23rd are high.

I got my hands on some car batteries to do a end to end test of our system (getting data to UNH), so I went out to the shack, replaced the solar controller so that it would work for lead-ion batteries, installed a low voltage cutoff switch, and hooked up the batteries. Now we wait and see.

The Prince of Monaco is taking a tour of Antarctica to raise awareness of global warming and climate change. Today he gave a half hour talk in the Galley on the matter. I think it is sort of humorous that he comes to the place that has the highest percentage per capita of climate change researchers to raise awareness about climate change. Seems like he should go to China or something instead.

After that, I shuffled around trying to see why my name was still on departure and debriefing lists for tomorrow and finally was left to my own doings. Nothing super interesting, though.

Battery reconditioning began tonight, too.

Advertisement



15th January 2009

hmm...
i can commiserate with you on the subject of dead batteries...good luck. windchill of -40 here this morning. you sure are meeting a lot of royalty/diplomats on this trip. tell the prince to get his minions to bring fresh batteries, stat.

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 987.2kb