The Experiment


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Old South Pole DomeThe Old South Pole DomeThe Old South Pole Dome

The dome will be taken down in the near future.
This morning I got up in time for breakfast and got a good start to my day. I met Jason, who is the winterover science support tech at pole, at his office at 8:00 to plan for the day. We decided we would prep the site in the morning and hope that cargo would have time to bring the Thermos Flask Box out to the site in the afternoon. We walked over to Cargo and talked with Webster about bringing the flask out in the afternoon. We Borrowed a banana sled and a couple of shovels. Jason offered to pull the sled which was great because today is my second day here at Pole and I have not acclimatized yet. It is -52F out today with windchill, and Im surprised at how long I can work outside. Our first task was to locate and uncover the previous installation and locate the buried cabling. Digging at 10,500 feet at the cold temperatures was not really as bad as I thought. Jason and I were able to uncover the old box and cables and get the new location prepped. It took us about 1.5 hours to get everything ready for the new deployment.
Installation site from last year Installation site from last year Installation site from last year

This site had a few feet of snow accumulation
We walked back to the A.R.O. Building (Clean Air Building) and I met the NOAA scientists that are running the instrumentation there. I was able to get permission to go up the A.R.O. tower and up on the roof to take pictures overlooking the entire station. I took some photos from the roof of A.R.O. and then walked out to the runway to film the C-130 landing. Cargo informed us that they were able to move us up on their schedule and get the pallet out to the install site earlier. I met the loader out at the site at 2:45 and we placed the box. I removed the covers of both boxes and got everything prepped for the transfer of the thermal oil and the electronics payload. Everything went really smoothly the pumping process went well and everything worked when we plugged the cables back in.

That night I had a big meal and played some drums in the evening and then went to bed early around 8pm. I had a hard time sleeping given the altitude and the extremely dry air.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Digging out the old boxDigging out the old box
Digging out the old box

Lots of digging at 10,500ft
Loader Loader
Loader

Moving the crate
Box in Place and Wired upBox in Place and Wired up
Box in Place and Wired up

Everything is working
Climbing in Bunny BootsClimbing in Bunny Boots
Climbing in Bunny Boots

Climbing up the Tower at ARO
At the top of the TowerAt the top of the Tower
At the top of the Tower

Up the Tower - dome in the background on the left
Yes I am having a good timeYes I am having a good time
Yes I am having a good time

Digging can be fun


6th February 2007

looks cccollllddd
Is that reall you under all that beard??

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb