Bonking in upper Egypt


Advertisement
Africa
June 28th 2012
Published: June 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The temples and tombs I've seen ithat's few days have been truly remarkable. Abu simbal, queen hetshapsut's temple, the ruins at Karnak, and more all are spectacular scenes that provide a small glimpse into the lives of those from this advanced, early civilization. The valley of the kings is actually quite underwhelming, or perhaps unassuming when you consider that these were the tombs of royalty. The valley has several doorways into the hillside and it is easy to see why so many Egyptian sites still lay beneath, their secrets yet to be revealed. If the doorways were gone you would not know anything was there. King tut's tomb can be found there, though I didn't visiit that particular site (I saw all his good stuff that is housed in the Cairo museum).

In addition the Egyptian and roman sites, the Nile itself is a beauty to behold. Running from south to north through the country, this river is responsible for providing lush agricultural and ornamental lands along its edges. I was able to ride a traditional egyptian sailboat, a felucca, up the Nile and sleep overnight on the life giving waters. Along the trip it is easy to see the stark difference, theboundary where the water's reach ends and fine sands take over. Nubian tombs, a botanical garden and cruise boats provide company on this quiet river. No crocodiles though 😉

Im glad i came here, but I will admit that Egypt has been hard on my spirit. Athletes will 'bonk'when they reach that point in their training or racing when their bodies give out, and they just can't physically go on. I'm definitely no athlete, but I'm bonking here in north Africa. And for me it's the never ending, insistent harassment you face from street vendors everywhere you go. They will physically block your way, follow you for blocks, as if you are playing hard to get. As a traveler I enjoy speaking with locals, asking kids about school, telling jokes, etc. here I can't do that, I can't look at a vendor, I can't even say 'no' or hello, as any recognition of them sets you up as a mark.

So, my advice, really for as much as its worth, is do Egypt with a friend. I had to see Egypt, and as it happened I had to do it alone, though I've met some rad fellow travelers itwould be good to have someone to keep things light and fun.

Advertisement



30th June 2012

semi understand
Amber, I semi understand what your going thru, only on a MUCH smaller scale. Mom, aunt Linda and I went to Mexico last week. I dared not make eye contact with any one or else.....and its amazing how every vendor had 'really good deals.'. On our way out to cross back into US, we were bombarded hard before we crossed the invisible line. One lady had a pot and was so insistant that mom buy the pot that she started her price at $20 bucks and went down to $5. She put the pot in mom's rollie cart and mom finally told her very sternly, 'no, I don't want it! Its ugly....' finally the lady got the hint and took off after the next poor sole trying to make it quickly across that invisible line. Stay strong, remember why you are there....to have the time of your life....see you soon. Sherry
1st July 2012

I had forgot bout that !
I put myself under house arrest a couple of days because I just couldn't enjoy my trip, but now all is good and I'm back in love with Egypt! I'm flying home tonight!

Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb