Casablanca, Morocco


Advertisement
Africa
June 25th 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Najd & Aunt HesnaNajd & Aunt HesnaNajd & Aunt Hesna

wating for CTM- bus that goes from city to city and country to country-European
We arrive in Casablanca around 2:30 am. It takes about an hour and a half to get through customs. We are all exhausted and starving. We did not eat on the plane. We did sleep a couple of hours. We come out of customs into the main airport where morrocans are there to greet their families. I spot my father-in-law and my husband Aunt Hesna (my favorite) we wave frantically while we walk through the line to get to a point where we reach them. When we finally reach them I am over come with emotion as we all hold each other and give tons of kisses. My father-in-law has aged considerably...he has lost all of his teeth, he lost weight, his face as become older. But he does look healthy to me so that is good. Khalti Hesna hasnt changed a bit.

We tip the baggage handlers 5 dollars each once they get the luggage to the taxi, there are two of them. Our philosophy (me and my husband) is: We begrundgenly spend alot of money in america. As americans we are expected to tip 15-20% in a restaurant, we pay outrageous taxes, everytime you turn around someone is syphoning your money in one way or another. Why not tip the people her very well. They work hard for very little, life is very difficult, an american dollar goes a long way...5 dollars can feed a whole family very well. The people here are very greatful for the money and need it deperately. This becomes an issue later when my father-in-law accuses my husband of sqandering money. His view is we should give them only what is customary.

We get to Khalti Hesnas house...She had a great meal prepared for us, Roasted beef, vegetables, fruit, yogurt, fresh bread; she jokingly called it sahur because it was now 5:30 in the morning. Sahur is the meal that we have before sunrise during the month of Ramadan. We sleep until 2:00 in the afternoon then arise go to Ain Diab we take Abdullah and Asiyah with us this is a beautiful area with beaches, cafes, and hotels. Its an international tourist spot. I forget my camera and we dont stay long, we rest up before our bus trip to fez in the morning. I am sure on the way back home we will spend time some more time in Casablanca, I will take pictures and post them then insha Allah (God willing)

We head to Fes (Fez) June 26 at 9:00 am


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My father-in-law & family My father-in-law & family
My father-in-law & family

still waiting to aboard CTM
playground at resting placeplayground at resting place
playground at resting place

Bus stop in Rabat for bathroom break


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb