Aunties Orphans and Other Visitors


Advertisement
Africa
May 6th 2010
Published: May 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

April 2010
The farming season has begun in the northern hemisphere - From Kirk’s homeland of North Dakota to our chosen land Ghana. Man prepares the land and plants the seed; God takes care of the sun and water.

Our trip to America seems like a dream. We often mention people, places and events. We voice our memories and share with Ghanaian’s the pictures and videos taken.

After our amazing American Tour, we returned to Ghana and have settled back into daily life. Kirk spends much of his teaching time visiting new locations with a pastor, Bishop Eshun. He’s also teaching, a few days each week at a newly opened bible school in Dunkwa. On days he’s free from teaching he can be found “tending the land” in our village of Fenaso.

My main focus has been home schooling Kwabena and Praise. Public schools have a three week break this time of year as they are between semesters. We lightened up on home schooling and have enjoyed some extra time with the three teenage girls we look after (Ophilia, Cynthia and Grace).

Easter week was spent in the village of Apebouso. We had Christy and Megan, two wonderful American girls, visit and teach at the school. Students had a marvelous time learning several new songs and more about the solar system. Christy and Megan had a marvelous time learning about another culture. They were brave troopers and stepped beyond their comfort zones and into new experiences.

From time to time we have guests of another sort in our lives. For the past month we’ve had twin tree hyrax’s who were orphaned a few weeks after birth. It’s funny to watch their distinct personalities in action. The boy being “all boy” in personality is less social, reckless with food, and very protective of his sister. The girl is “all girl” and wanting to cuddle, needing me to show her what food to eat and faithfully following her brother’s lead.

I had just begun to incorporate the hyrax feeding schedule into my daily life, when we had another new arrival. The neighbor’s cat had gone out hunting the previous day and didn’t return. Now a boy stood outside my house with a shouting, very hungry, two week old kitten. I had just finished feeding the hyrax babies and hadn’t put the milk away. I asked Kenneth and kitten to come in then proceeded to serve a second round of breakfast. That day Kenneth went home, the kitten has remained with us. It has a ferocious appetite and adores one of Praise’s good friends whose name is “Godlove”. I’m just thankful there was only one kitten and not a litter!

I refer to all of my babies of the animal kingdom as “Aunties Orphans”. In the late 1990’s I was asked to be an extension of the national zoo. For a variety of reasons I declined the offer. The main reason being, I personally prefer the “raise and release” approach. During their time with me, I use the animals as tools for education in animal care and our responsibility in nature.
In the coming week school vacation will come to an end and we will return to structured days and formal education.

I apologize for the long silence in our correspondence. Ghana’s Communication systems are far worse then in the past. But …we may have found a solution (??). Please continue sending us your emails and phone texts. They are vital to our emotional health! We always enjoy hearing your about your family’s events. None are too small or insignificant. We enjoy hearing from you as much as you enjoy hearing from us.

I tried to add some photos to this entry but my patience ran out. After 30 minutes the first photo still wasn't fully uploaded.

Keeping in Touch
Christine & Co










Advertisement



7th May 2010

Great to hear from you.
I miss Apebouso. How are you all doing? I wish I can write like you do. I like your way of writing. Give our love to all at Apebouso. Blessings Lewis
8th May 2010

Hi Christine, I enjoyed reading your blog. Our days at the cider mill seem like distant memories. I often wonder about you and your family. Glad to know you made it back safely. It was very cold and rainy here today-reminded me of those cold fall days we shared. Thank you for sharing your stories. Alicia
24th June 2010

Great to hear from you!
I sure enjoyed your message. You live a life of such diversity. Your writing portrays such a sense of peace and confidence. Glad you mentioned the communication challenges, I will resize photos before I send. Prayers, Jeff

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb