Wooooolverine!!


Advertisement
Africa
May 11th 2009
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just saw that movie, it was awesome!! Totally full of energy now :D

So on Wed, didn't really do much after I was online, spoke to Roy <3 then went to sleep!!

Thurs - had a day off the running, Iona was all flustered cuz she didn't want to go up abseil alone, but I had stuff to do and Natasha had to support raft in the morning, felt bad!! I did some office work, stapling and the like, and then it was my turn to support the rafting - was good fun!! Was one short of life-jackets though, so I had to run back and get one, that was my exercise for the day :p went on the inflatable raft, the group weren't great paddlers tbh, so I had to be rudder at the back :p had a good chat with Flip and played chess on his phone (got beat) then when I got back, chatted to RT and KG and the male teacher about life in general. Did more work on the search and rescue, then had a big kaffuffle cuz everyone was late back - turns out that the search and rescue was gunna be postponed, and done in place of the final challenge which I had planned out so well. Total bummer!! We went to the tiny shop and bought a kit-kat, then played piano, worked out a TingTings song, collected the raft from the river with Gladwin and Natasha, wanted the kids talent show, was awesome!! So nice that they can just dance and sing and get so much enjoyment from it and not be embarrased. Spoke to maw, and went to bed.

Fri - did the 12k run, in 50mins!! Possibly a wrong measurement :p me and Iona attempted to cook eggs, mine were nice but hers were kak!! So funny. We cleaned the gear-store floor, sweeping out the flooded water, then search and rescue!! It went really well, everyone was complimenting it. I was nearly late for my scenario though, cuz I had to show the female teacher where she was supposed to be - had to get Flip to distract his group while I ran past them to the site!! Was hilarious. My abdominal wound/broken arm/shock/drunkenness went well!! Hoyed tomato paste for the blood :p they put me on the spinal board instead of Natasha though, oops!! And they put my hat over my face, so I could have died, but apart from that, all good. Chatted to folk, said bye to the group and teachers, closing circle was good, then clear-up!! Me and Iona helped clean the toilets - I swear, I think every girl on that course was on their period!! Helped RT with his pod, checked his and Flips, then me and Natasha and Iona made dinner - chicken stir-fry with lots of veg!! We spent a long time de-boning and de-fatting the chicken, not so fun :S went down very well :D read the paper, and danced lots in the kitchen!! Good night :p

Sat - 12k in 50mins again, showered, breakfasted, had de-brief, was long and hectic!! Sorted RT's unused rations and hosed down tarps, chatted to Iona about eating and how bothered we are by the food here :p hoyed lunch, then went to the shop with Iona/Natasha - found out Nomusa, one of the instructors, is preggers!! So happy for her, she's over the moon. Went back and started safety checks, not fun, lots of rope coiling!! Played pianoooooooooooooooooooooo, and went for a walk - saw the moon come up, all lovely and golden against the navy blue sky!! Spectacular. Had chicken for dinner, then went out in Potch with Flip and his friend and Iona and Ted - SUCH a good night!! Seriously, not had a night out in sooo long. Went to a bar, spoke to Flip's mate's friends, went to a club, went to 24hr Wimpy for ice-cream and coffee, spoke briefly to Roy and Rory and Kieran and Jane and Lauren and Morag, so kool to hear their voices!! Went to an Afrikaans club, was soooo good, chatted to some random farmers and did some Zulu-dance (I think) :p went back to base, spoke to Roy for ages, ended up getting like 2rs sleep that night!!

Sun - woke up late, did safety checks on first aid kits, they are horribly out of date and understocked!! I don't understand how this could happen, after safety checks every month!! Ugh. Put my and Ted's photos of the course on Sifiso's computer, had lunch, did washing (we have a washing machine here :D yayness) hung it out, helped pull the raft back to base, and summited "Mount Wheesh" as they call it, with Ted. Was awesome views from the top, nicer than expected!! Only takes like an hour to get up there :p wrote a letterrrrr, then everyone else came back from Lapalala - was awesome to see James again actually!! Was shattered from lack of sleep, but still chatted to everyone and mum and G&G - was so great to speak to them!! Sood round the fire for a bit, then went to bed - was awake by this point, and had awesome banter.

And todayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, went for my very own Potch version of the terrific tensome sprints - got chased by Johannes's dog for a bit though!! (Maintainence guy) hoyed shower and brekkie, then waited around to go in to town- took mug-shots of everyone for their files while I waited and uploaded them, was funny!! Hoyed it in to Potch in the back of the buckie, checked e-mails then got rushed away to see Wolverine!! Got hold of Top Deck again <3 been too long!! :D saw the movie, finnnnally got to buy a good rain jacket!! Its a small mens, but its all good :p now here!! Going for pizza now, will be awesome, since its Harrismith tomorrow, possibly no civilisation for 2 weeks or more. Interesting stuff. And we're kitchen bitches!! We'll make the best of it :p and James and Maria have to do it for 2 weeks after we finish, so we're not the only ones at least!! They nearly missed their bus today, due to the extremely poor OB communication - only reason they got it was because it was late!!

Hopefully speak soon, love you guys loads!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (if I don't respond to mail, its because I've not been/won't be in Sedgefield for a while - will respond when I get it, I promise!!) :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb