The Kingdom At Victoria Falls


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
April 7th 2012
Published: April 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There are a few things that you notice when you travel by yourself…

First of all, you go to bed early because there is no one to entice you to stay up late, socialize with others and drink more in the bars than you really want to.

Secondly, you find yourself having a conversation with no one. It has happened several times on this trip. I verbally tell myself what is on the agenda for the day… where I will go, what I will do, and how I will get there. When I catch myself, I immediately look around to see if anyone is looking at me crazily. Luckily, I seem to only do it when I am not near other people. Weird… I need to stop that.

Also, you tend to sit back and take in the people who are around you… I have never seen so many tourists wearing safari gear. People are wearing safari vests, hiking boots with big white woolly slouch socks, Tilley hats, and they look like they are equipped to hike mountains, survive in the Rain Forests, and beat the heat in the desert. This is a tourist town and everything is catered to the tourist. They must have watched a lot of movies based in Africa before coming here.

Having gone to bed early the first night, I was up at 630AM on Good Friday. I took pictures of the grounds before everyone was up. I also found a family of baboons playing outside my room. While they are cute to look at from a distance, I would run like a school girl is they decided to run at me. They can be really nasty animals!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Buildings And PondsBuildings And Ponds
Buildings And Ponds

Apparently, baby alligators are in the ponds
Warriors At The EntranceWarriors At The Entrance
Warriors At The Entrance

These statues are pretty impressive upon your arrival.


7th April 2012

Enjoy my friend
Hi Rob we are relaxing in Kigamboni but its nothing compared to what am seeing here.I can see your 'room' is the pond.
7th April 2012

Happy Easter
Im sure you won't have peeps to blow up in a microwave, but I hope you have a great Easter! And remember the more you talk to yourself the less likely anyone will come up and talk to you!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb