Livingstone, Again


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
April 1st 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had crossed the border on foot, again, and was fortunate enough to be distracted from my misery at leaving the lions by a conversation with 2 Zambian students who dreamed of working in the UK. (WHY? yes it pays alot better but we also pay alot more for everything and we get taxed through the nose.)

Then another border crossing, fortunately I had arranged to stay at Jolleyboys in advance this time so they had arranged a visa waiver for me. However when I got to Jolleyboys they had cancelled my reservation, as I had not turned up when expected. This was a good thing as I now didn’t have to pay $25 but only the $5 for one nights’ accommodation.

The volunteer Co-ordinator for Zimbabwe was kind enough to ring her counterpart in Zambia, so I could spend the evening with other people rather than brooding over the fact that I would never be able to play with Phoenix and Penduka again, so I gave them a call and I had something to do that evening.

In the morning it was wake up and catch the 9.30 bus to Lusaka and I wasn’t looking forward to Lusaka Bus Station again…

This time the coach actually showed a programme on the television screens it had up. At first I thought they were speaking in a language that was not English. For some reason I fond myself watching it any way. After a while I started to understand what they where saying! Why? It was English, just with a very heavy accent. It’s amazing what you’ll pay attention to when you’re bored…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb