Christmas Holidays: Episode 2


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
January 7th 2010
Published: January 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Right on ... Round 2

On a bus to Livingstone ... December 21st ... I think. 8 hours later and 2 Apple Max deep we arrived. Found out the hostel was only walking distance from where the bus dropped us ... bonus ... even though some guy tried to give us a ride there for 10,000 kwacha ... wah wah ... lucky enough for us he was honest and told us "I'm not going to lie ... the hostel is walking distance from here." Even after informing us of the distance he still wanted us to get in and pay him ... stupid!

Livingstone backpackers hostel was amazing! Pretty much a resort ... just way cheaper ... $5 a night ... not bad!

We stayed there for a few nights including Christmas eve ... which, in Africa .... is wild. I don't think we celebrate the birth of baby Jesus even close to the way they do here ... kind of scary ... more like a new years celebration than anything ... there was a countdown and everything. TIA! We got a chance to go on a river cruise earlier in the evening though to see the sunset ... pretty good. Met a group of people who were volunteering in Windhoek, Namibia and took the bus back to our hostel with them while singing ... more yelling out of tune ... Christmas carols involving snow and horse drawn sleighs ... things Africans know little about. Got a few good looks on the road back ... nice work.

Christmas Day:
Wow definitely feels like I completely missed Christmas this year ... no snow = no Christmas. Woke up late and lounged by the pool all day. Went out with some Americans we had met in Lusaka for a nice supper and some drinks ... still wasn't Christmas ... even though there was a huge fake evergreen tree completely decorated with presents underneath eyeshot from our table. Wierd!

Went to Victoria Falls twice while we were in Livingstone ... craziness ... so big ... and dangerous ... and full of stupid tourists doing stupid things. Body count up to 3 by the time we left ... don't worry Helen I was safe the entire time ... water wings!

The 27th was a pretty serious day ... rafted the Zambezi river and jumped off the edge of the gorge ... not bad. Rafting was insane! The biggest waves I have ever seen ... I broke down and bought the video they took of us going through them ... mostly for you Lemphers ... get your canoes in there! Fell out on the first rapid we went through ... right after our guide had told us not to fall out because it might make the whole raft flip ... nice work Will ... good way to start the trip. I'm having a hard time explaining how crazy the experience was so I hope to show you the video when I get back.

Hiked out of the gorge to our transit bus that was waiting with drinks ... took it back to the hotel all the activities run out of ... ate lunch ... just in time to catch another bus to the gorge swing. Tina and I were the only ones out of the 5 of us to do it ... nice work. Holy drop 57m before feeling tension on the cable I was connected to ... I couldn't even yell ... awesome! Did it twice! AYAH! 1 up on you Thom? I don't know you tell me.

Anyway ... while I write this I am stuck in Lusaka, Zambia ... can't get my visa proccessed to get back to the DRG until early next week ... photos up when I'm back "safe" in Likasi ... I hope ...

Peace and Love

Advertisement



10th January 2010

Wah
APPLE MAXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Crushed many of those on my Zambian journeys. Can't believe that guy tried to get 10 pin from you. Get in Congo already.

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb