The return on Eeyore


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
September 11th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, this is my second attempt to write this blog this week. I have been so busy that I didn't get a chance until yesterday, when I was in such a foul mood that I decided it was probably not the best idea to inflict it on the rest of the world (it is not much better today, to be truthful, but at least not everything is irritating me as it was yesterday!). The acting president of the country (former vice-president, but now head after Mwanarasa's death) will be visiting this office tomorrow on his election campaign, so hopefully that will be more exciting & lift my spirits!
I'm not entirely sure why I'm so grumpy at the moment (other than the usual reason women get each month). I think it is a combination of the heat (it is roasting here at the moment, and will only get worse until the rains come at the end of October- I am not looking forward to the trip down to Lusaka before I fly home!), the lack of water coming out of the taps over the last few days (also due to the sudden heat & drying up of the resevoir). The water has at least come back today, although the power has gone. Once again, thank you Zesco.
On tuesday, I said goodbye to one of the volunteers who I have built up probably one of the closest friendships I've had since coming here, which has made me feel rather sad. She is the only other person who shares my love of Zambian food (why is it that no mzungus ever appreciate nshima properly?!), and I am already buying the ingredients to cook her a zambian meal when she comes to visit me in London at the end of November or early December. I will miss her though, the rest of the time I am here. Of all the people, I've met since I came here, there's probably only two or three that I can really imagine staying in touch with long term. The volunteer that I took a hearty dislike to has also left this week, much to my relief. I can wish them well, now that I never have to see them again.
This isn't much of an entry, I'm afraid. I'm off to a tribal festival on Saturday, so hopefully I should have something more interesting to say by next week!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb