Malaria


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So another week has passed & my time here is rapidly dwindling. Only 6 left to go now. Not quite sure how I feel about it; on one hand it will be lovely to come home and see all the friends and family I've been missing over the last six months, as well as the usual creature comforts. But it also means the boring issues of job interviews and flat hunting.
Still, I have not really been getting on too great. I started this blog two days ago, but had to abandon it halfway through as I had no energy to continue with it. I am fairly certain that I have had malaria. I had a blood test on Friday which was negative, but you need to have three before you can get an accurate diagnosis. It began with some d&v, although thankfully that didn't last too long, now I have just been left with fever, muscle pain, persistant headache & exhausion. Today I am on my last day of medication to try and feel better, which seems to have alleviated the fever but not the exhaustion or the headache. I have spent most of my time lately sleeping, I walked up to Katete on Saturday & then spent fourteen hours sleeping to recover from it! Last night I think I spent ten hours asleep, from 8pm to 6am, when I got up to go back to work. I certainly have more sympathy with the people who get sick here. This disease has just knocked the wind out of me entirely, I couldn't have even walked a 100 yards yesterday. Today is not too much better, but at least if I sit quietly at a desk, I can cope. It's going to be a very quiet weekend for me I think! There is some talk of going back to Drums again but I doubt very much if I will be up for that!
In other news, my laptop died on Saturday in a blaze of sparks. I may be able to get a replacement part for it from Lilongwe on Saturday (if I can afford it); otherwise am not too sure how I will cope without it for the next 5 1/2 weeks!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb