Kampala Round Two!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
January 15th 2016
Published: January 15th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I was wavering on the choice of staying in Nairobi for a bit or blasting out to the good spot….well I finally decided to take an overnight bus to Kampala as the true traveler does. Do stuff all day, transport by night to save money, and do stuff again all day. LOVING LIFE RIGHT NOW…especially being away from the “organized fun” type of travel…I arrived at a place aptly called Backpacker’s Hostel and Campground. My type of place. I immediately set up my tent and was pleasantly surprised by the familiar voice calling my name. I turned around to see my friend, Bryon, whom I met like 4.5 months before in the Drakensburg Mountains in South Africa!!! So awesome!!! This is what traveling is about. It just reinforces my love for the life on the road and I got really excited about my decisions on where to stay, how to get there, etc…Yessssssssss! Well I spent a almost a week in Kampala relaxing, organizing the next few parts of my trip, and buying all the flights I needed to get home. I found an amazing street food item called a Rolex as well! It is a chipati (indian flat bread, fried on a hot griddle) two eggs, cabbage, onion(when I wanted…) tomatoe, and avocado all rolled up something like a breakfast burrito but at a fraction of the price. 50 cents was all it cost to enjoy this vegetarian option, which I did every lunch except one. I got to know the purveyor of this fine street cart and we got a long quite well. Alex was his name and we all(Bryon and I) went to local establishments to enjoy night time refreshments and he definitely gave proper advice on all things Kampala. Throughout the week we still enjoyed other local street fair such as the newly dubbed carbo-salad; layered in a plastic bag we had fried rice, spaghetti, fried potatoes (chips, or thick French fries if you’re American), cabbage, both fresh and fried, tomatoe, eggplant, avocado, and chili sauce upon request! Amazing!!!! And for real when there’s an option of 57 cents, 85 cents, or $1.15 I have no idea how these people made money but I was full as…every time!!!!! Bryon and I enjoyed these local cuisines as well as some other delicacies such as KFC. Hahaha. I had another xmas like time where we went to a mall, ate western food, and watched a movie in a theater. Amazing! I have to say, Vin diesel is back…maybe not….hahaha but an action flick with great sound was too fun. Very similar to the death defying rides on a boda boda to and from town….ill try to post video. That’s all from Kampala! I was supposed to volunteer at the same guy’s place who showed us such a good time at Lake Bunyoni, but it apparently didn’t work out. Oh well. I got a spot to volunteer at literally right next door. So all is good as I took another night bus to Kabale for the win!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb