Kilembe and Rwenzori Trekking Services (RTS)


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Rwenzori Mountains
August 22nd 2011
Published: August 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kilembe and Rwenzori Trekking Services (RTS)



I went to Kilembe on Friday. I was interested in having a closer look at their hostel and facilities. I also brought a bag of mountain equipment like boots, jackets, fleece and more, to give to someone down here. Since I will do the trek with Rwenzori Mountaineering Services (RMS) later, I thought I should give the gear to RTS, to share between the two competitors.

If anyone are considering doing a trek in the park, I will recommend RTS, based on the feedback from the people I met, and what I have learned about the company.

Since I was first up here in Kyanjuki Village, Kilembe, I decided to do some kind of activity. Except for different days of trekking in the national park, they also provide a one or two day community walk. I went for the two day walk. The concept with these walks is that all the income goes straight back to the community, and of course; you will learn more about the communities you are visiting. I pay here at RTS, but all the money goes to the locals. The community then decides what to do with the money, like building a new classroom at one of the schools, improve the infrastructure, by some equipment for the local coffee production or other things. Bongo, my guide is from one of the four villages we passed through, and so are the other 7 (I think) guides that work as community guides.

It was a pleasant walk without any physical challenges, but interesting to learn more about this community.

Today I have booked a eight days trek in Rwenzori National Park, with Mt. Margherita as the "little extra" halfway through the walk. I will leave tomorrow morning.

Just a short entry from this weekend, but I got a few photos that I thought it would be nice for you to have a look at : )

(By the way; I decided to change my project based on the time of handling the research permit here in Uganda. But I have to say that they are not quick in Norway either! I sent in an application one month before I left for Uganda, and the process was supposed to take a month. But today I received an email saying that they have now started to look at my application! "Only" seven weeks after I sent it to them... So, maybe my original project was never meant to be completed anyway...)



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



1st September 2011

Lyd fra Hakadal
Hei Magnus, du er flink til å fortelle om hvordan det går der nede. Høres ut som du har litt av hvert å holde styr på, fram og tilbake med oppgave, og samtidig utforske landet, som da kanskje er litt lettere. Jeg derimot skal løpe sognsvanntesten i morgen for brannvesenet i Oslo, er spent.... Kos deg videre og lykke til!!! Klem

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb