Off to Bed... but First


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Fort Portal
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

9/19/08
It is passed my bedtime and I am exhausted, but here we go anyway…

As I am sure you can tell, because of the lack of internet access, these are probably not written at the same time they are posted. I am only able to write entries when I have time at night and then upload them when I get a chance to drop into a internet café.

For the last few days we have had a group from the states help us with some projects. The program is called Carpe Diem and they are made up of college age students who are spending three months in Africa doing service projects and fun activities. I am a bit jealous their next stop is a Safari in Tanzania. At the same time, I know I am lucky because I am already getting a chance to develop real relationships with the children. To me this is far more satisfying.

Because the office is swamped due to the beginning of third term for the children at school I haven’t been able to receive a proper orientation and instead have been giving the group a hand with their projects. Half the group is building a cow shed at the Manna Rescue Home, and the other is building a chicken coup at a local home on the outskirts of town. Currently, the home has 24 adopted orphans living there, so we try to help out in any way we can. I cannot even begin to explain all the ways having these resources will be tremendously helpful for both the family and the Rescue Home. My last two days have been spent clearing the land and building a foundation out of brick and cement for the cowshed. It’s coming along but has a lot more work to be done.

Well, I am falling asleep at the computer so I think it is a good time to wrap this up for the night. Will post more soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb