Rafting the Nile


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Jinja
January 20th 2010
Published: January 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jan 20 
Day 5
Today we had our white waterrafing excursion. I was bummed about not wearig contacts but not worth messing with my eyes yet. Can't wait for LASIK. Any way we had a great breaky then headed off to have another with the rafting group. Then we had a short drive to the river. 
Our boat was the 2 Ozzie girls 2 guys we meet last night, 2 uk chicks and myelsf. Our raft guide Nathan was very good and through. I was very impressed. We entered the Nile at a very mellow slow moving area so we were able to do all the drills and pratice flipping and everythig.  It was the most hand on teaching I have ever seen. Once we went through all of that it as game on. First rapid was a 3 good opener for everyone. Then through out the day we hit 2s-5s, it was sick, some really sold fun rapids. Durring one of them I/the oar punched me in my face I cut my lip a little and it's a tiny swollen but nothing big, Nile scar. We flipped the boat two times through out the day the first time was a mess I'm sure it looked like a yard sale dumped in the river. We tried holding on but the boat got stuck/surfing the rapid so we had to let go and get swept down stream. I managed to swim off into an eddie where a kayak guide picked me up and took my to the safety raft. It was sick although a pain becaue to had to hold on to my sunnies. Then towards the end we actually had to get off the raft beccaue there was a 6 class rapid in the river we had to walk around, just on the other side was our last class 5 rapid. Nathan explains our approach and away we went. We got tossed and turned around into it and then wound up surfing the rapid for sometime loosing people with every bounch until our ultimate demise of flipping over. Maydeena the guide and I managed to stay with the raft when it flipped and got it up right. We then had to collect everyone and paddle a bit up stream to our pick up point. The only down side was that there were ver large pools we had to paddle through between each rapid some times for a half hour or so. Small price to pay I suppose to raft the all mighty Nile.   
We had a short 40 min drive or so back to camp where we had an awesome BBQ on the beautiful deck overlooking the Nile. 
A little while later we had dinner as a group at a cute little restaurant called green light with the nicest kid as a host/server named Greece his nickname was maidido which means fat.  We had a spicy pumkin soup as an app then a goat stew as our main then followed by a fruit platter desert. Everything was delicious. Our dinner was finished off with a little performance by some locals kids who sang and danced for us and we even danced with them a bit. It was a great little experience. After dinner everyone headed of to bed but Maydeena and I stay up a little while and played some cards at the bar. Before we headed off to bed. 
      

Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb