An internet connection at last


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 12th 2006
Published: July 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've finally found some time in an internet cafe....

I'm having a very challenging time, but I have to say it's the best holiday I've ever had. The people here are so welcoming and friendly, although for so many their living conditions are appalling. On Sunday afternoon, we went round the slums where some of the children at the centre live - and it's heartbreaking to see their homes and environment - I freely admit I was in tears. But they are not downhearted - amazingly they are happy, and they were delighted to see us and gather round us..... Phew!

We went out Saturday and Monday to get the 160 shoes from the Bata factory in Kampala for the neediest children who live at the hostel - and yesterday we gave out the girls's shoes - the boys will get theirs today or Friday (tomorrow we're taking 150 of the youngest children with their children to Jinja which is where the source of the Nile is). The children were delighted with their shoes, so thanks folks for all your donations towards the shoes.

We have also given out the presents to the children who are being sponsored whose sponsors sent gifts for them. They were a bit non-plussed at first - but once they opened them they were really excited.

I have loads of pictures and video footage - and if I can persuade this blessed computer to recognise my camera I'll upload some of them to my travelblog - but don't get excited - internet connection is also pretty slow!

However, now I've finally established this place which is near our hotel, I'll try again....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb