I'm here!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick update! I'm finally here in beautiful Uganda, which is full of beautiful people and landscape. Pictures to come soon when I'm able to log onto a computer with faster internet. But I'm staying at Molly and Paul's very large house with 20 other people. They all speak English, but speak to eachother in Luganda, so my days are spent listening to their beautiful language. I have two roomates- a Cockroach named Jack Jack and a rat named Taylor. For some reason they really love living in my room. Its not as bad as it sounds... or is it?

All the children are so cute, and love to shake hands with the muzungo (foreigner, particularly a white person.)

I have quickly gotten used to seeing very dark skin all around me that when I walk past a mirror or my reflection in the window, I kind of get scared, half-way believing I've seen a ghost. People have no problem pointing out that I'm one of the palest people they've ever seen. Thats ok, I tell them- I think I'm one of the palest people I've ever seen too.

Blessing! I'll be in touch soon!

Advertisement



29th January 2009

Silly
Hey you! I have to say, I can see you giggling nervously as you look at and discuss your new non-human friends. Makes me laugh. And don't feel bad about being white. I bet I'm whiter than you! And you won't be that white for long! Love you!
3rd February 2009

My dearest whitest sister...lol!!!! I love the pictures that you have put up on facebook. You are amazing and I'm so proud to have you as my snuggle bunny...I love you!!
3rd February 2009

Hello
Hey! I just read through all of your entries, I love hearing about all of your adventures! I subscribed so that I remember to keep reading it, too. Good luck, and I totally look forward to hearing more and seeing more pics! Love you mucho!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb