High Emotions


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

No words could describe what I saw and felt today, I could barely hold back tears. I visited two schools I will be coaching basketball in or assisting teachers begining Monday. The Nabawanuka all girls school and the Beupa School in the Katanga Slum in Kampala. I will let the photos speak to you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Beupa School courtyard and homes
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Neighborhood
KatangaKatanga
Katanga

Neighborhood
Nabawanuka SchoolNabawanuka School
Nabawanuka School

student walking past burning trash. There is no public sanitation in Kampala.
Nabawanuka SchoolNabawanuka School
Nabawanuka School

Geography teacher and my supervisor.
Nabawanuka SchoolNabawanuka School
Nabawanuka School

Outside entrance


11th July 2008

So beautiful
Daddy, it's just like the video we were watching...everyone is so beautiful and their faces tell a story. Wow; the pics blew me away!!!
11th July 2008

Hi Charlie. I hope that the culture shock has not affected you too badly. When you get to work with the kids, things will be easier for you! Their smiling faces and laughter can raise any spirit beyond any boundary... I am coming to Uganda on 10th August so we may even get a chance to speak. Conditions in Gulu may be more difficult for you to accept. Only telling you so that you can prepare your mind. Just remember that, by your actions, YOU are having a positive impact on their lives.. Stay safe man. Kev
14th July 2008

here...take some enery :)
Hey Charlie... I cannot imagine even thru the pix how displaced I would feel!!! What an experience you are having! I feel lucky to work with you!! You have so much to offer in Philadelphia...the children are fortunate to have you! I love the pix...they capture so much! Cant wait to see more. I'm sending super well-wishes to you so you can maintain your positive energy high...they are feeding off of it!! :)
21st August 2008

question
1. What attitude do children have towards education? 2. which obstacles prevent children from going to school? 3. What challenges do parents face in taking their children to school?
23rd August 2008

education
Very good questions. Education is a high priority in Uganda and is considered a precious privilege. I found this attitude from the youngest child to the most senior adult I met. The answer to your second and third questions is simply poverty, poverty like I have never seen before. Many communities create self-contained schools for the early primary grades. After three or four years families can not afford the secondary fee to attend public school. So many American families take for granted what these people fight to obtain, free and accessible education.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb