Arrival


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

shopshopshop

outside Kapana
"Are you going to Uganda?" she asked with a serious tone while inspecting me. "Yes" I replied. "Are you African?" "No". You look like us." "I feel like one of you." "Good," she replied with a bright and welcoming smile. "Now, you are one of us!" After learning she is a teacher and exchanging other pleasantries she proclaimed; "I want you to have an exciting journey. That is my wish for you, a safe and exciting journey. You will love Uganda and it will love you!" So began my connection with Uganda while boarding at Heathrow.

I was picked up by Kato at 7:00 A.M., 7 hours ahead of my local time. Kato drove me to the TKL director's home for breakfast and a warm welcome. After breakfast I crashed for five hours and later enjoyed a great dinner with members of the TKL staff and Ben, a volunteer from the UK that arrived the day before.

Kampala: busy, the craziest traffic I ever saw and the warmest people I ever encountered. The smell of diesel and burning wood is constant and everywhere. People walk everywhere and everyone is in shape; no obesity epidemic here. My hotel is in
couplecouplecouple

morning commute
he heart of the city and overlooks a large outdoor market. My first two days were orientation and being acclimated to the city and necessary services by Seraji and Kenneth. I feel myself being reborn again, connected to a people and way of life I could never imagine. This is beautiful!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

autoauto
auto

auto repair and welding shop
arrivalarrival
arrival

leaving Entebbee


10th July 2008

Glad you arrived safely
Charlie .. This is a one in a lifetime experience! You are blessed to be a part of it. Thanks for sharing with everyone. Keep it coming.
10th July 2008

I can relate
Your photos brought back wonderful memories of my time in East Africa. The beauty of the people is beyond words.
10th July 2008

Keep it coming
I am loving this. I have never been a part of a blog before and this is truly great. Thank you for doing it. Enjoy and be safe. Love ya.
10th July 2008

Living Graciously
WOW. . . .It feel as though your blog pulls me from my urban reality to a place of gracious thoughts. Thanks for sharing this experience with us b/c it broadens my daily view of the world, and yet keeps me connected. Be safe in your travels. P.S. How is the food and water situation?
11th July 2008

Yay, you're there!
Glad you got in safely...this is so awesome! The brief conversation you had before boarding is a small glimpse of what you're going to get while you are there for the next two months...can't wait to hear what happens next. Love you Daddy!!!

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb